Reptiles, Amphibians, Wildlife, and Photography

A Nesting Common Snapping Turtle

Common snapping turtles can be aggressive out of water. But this mother was too busy laying her clutch of eggs to concern herself with me.

Randy Runtsch
Wildlife Trekker
Published in
3 min readJun 5, 2021

--

A female common snapping turtle laying eggs. Photo by the author.
A female common snapping turtle laying eggs. Note the pile of soil behind the turtle, left from the hole she dug. Photo by the author.

Perhaps I am the turtle, able to live simply anywhere, even underwater for short periods, with my home on my back. — Kurt Vonnegut

Whitewater State Wildlife Management Area is my favorite place to view and photograph birds. This morning, as I drove through the large preserve, I spotted a common snapping turtle in the grass on the side of the road.

I parked the car and walked toward the turtle. But it didn’t budge.

A female common snapping turtle laying eggs. Photo by the author.
A female common snapping turtle laying eggs. Photo by the author.

The turtle had dug a hole and was depositing her eggs into the cavity. Its body, head, feet, tail, and eyes remained still as I photographed it from several angles.

--

--

Randy Runtsch
Wildlife Trekker

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer