Insects, wildlife, monthly challenge, and photography

A Welcome Camp Guest

The larva of the spurge hawk-moth crawled through my campsite

Randy Runtsch
Wildlife Trekker
Published in
3 min readSep 21, 2022

--

Spurge Hawk-moth caterpillar. © 2022 Randy Runtsch.

On a recent trip to Theodore Roosevelt National Park, I looked forward to exploring North Dakota’s badlands and viewing wildlife. On previous visits, I had enjoyed watching and photographing bison, deer, wild horses, coyotes, wild turkeys, prairie dogs, and more. I saw all of those on this visit, but was surprised by a creature crawling through my campsite.

Wild horses. © 2022 Randy Runtsch.

A caterpillar nearly three inches (76 mm) long crawled along the dusty ground as I set up my tent. While the iPhone in my pocket would have served well, I ran to the car to retrieve my camera. Returning seconds later, the insect larva had traveled several feet.

American bison resting in the badlands of North Dakota’s Theodore Roosevelt National Park. © 2022 Randy Runtsch.

The caterpillar was the larval stage of the spurge hawk-moth (Hyles euphorbiae). This European native was imported to North America as one of several agents against the noxious weed leafy spurge…

--

--

Randy Runtsch
Wildlife Trekker

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer