Cranes in the Rain

A Photographic documentary of the birds feeding on the fields

Anne Bonfert
Wildlife Trekker
Published in
4 min readOct 23, 2022

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

It was just another rainy day. It is fall, and next to many sunny days, the rain must come. I woke up in the morning to the arrival of the cranes and their calls. I knew they were settling down on the fields next to us. Just for the day. For a feast.

I assumed they’d disappear with the rain, but they didn’t. Their calls appeared less frequent, but they were still there. Feeding on the fields.

As the rain was getting less, I grabbed my umbrella and headed out there. This was exactly how I had damaged my lens in the first place, with a handful of raindrops. But now it doesn’t matter anymore.

Cranes in the rain. | Credit: Anne Bonfert

Right at the edge of the trailer park, the cranes were picking seeds from the field.

Feasting in the fields. | Credit: Anne Bonfert

Quietly I walked a few steps forward trying not to disturb them.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Wildlife Trekker

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.