Day Five: Unrequited Love

Sprout Self Love
Wild Women Writers
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2020

--

Wild Women Writing Challenge

Dear Dr. Love Lady,

For a couple years now, I have been stuck on this guy that comes into my work ever so often. He’s sexy, strong, smart and funny. I am always the one to help him when he comes in, and we engage in some laughs and good conversation. I look forward to his visits. I gave him my contact info, and hoped he would call or text. Months went by before he finally surprised me with a text!

We ended up hanging out a handful of times, and we had a great time! Or at least I thought so. I started to fall in love with him. But, it was obvious he wasn’t. He actually became more and more distant when we’d talk. And then, out of no where, he stopped talking to me. I called him and texted him a handful of times, hoping that he’d just lost his phone and to see if he was okay.

I really got my hopes up. I thought the perfect man had come into my life! We had a connection, and he had pulled on my heart strings. And just like that, he vanished. I still have hopes that he’ll walk through the doors of my work again, but he doesn’t.

The other day, I ran into a friend of mine at a party. We started talking and somehow figured out that we both knew my “love”. Turns out, he’s had a girlfriend that he’s now engaged to! What the f$%&!?

What do I do? I’m still in love with this guy!

Sadly,

Unrequited Love

Dearest Unrequited Love,

Firstly, I just want to say that I’m sorry to hear about what you’re going through. Secondly, I’ll say that in our life, we will experience a number of varying experiences that will challenge us, help us grow and prepare us for deeper and more satisfying experiences. Thirdly, I’ll say… you were never in love with him in the first place.

You see, unrequited love isn’t always love. In this case, it’s more aptly described as lust or desire. You desired an illusion. You built an illusion in your mind, and within this illusion, you told yourself that this was true love without knowing for sure how he felt or what his intentions were.

In all of the stories of the mind, it’s easy to get carried away and believe that something is that which it’s not. But, if it were pure and true love, there would be no question. There would be no doubt. We wouldn’t have to wonder if the other person loves us, or why they don’t. If it were true love, we wouldn’t have to chase the unavailable person for validation. We would feel secure, safe and confident in ourselves and the other person.

Unrequited love is often times a sad scenario for one person. But, I doesn’t have to be! Observe your emotions, work through them and let it go! We are only given so much time in our lives. Don’t waste that precious time on unavailable people that aren’t meant for us! The only reason those people come into our lives is to teach us lessons. Meditate on what lesson this scenario has taught you, and move forward now knowing something you didn’t now before.

Repeat the mantras: I am worthy. I am enough. I am love.

Self love will never be unrequited!

Sincerely,

Dr. Love Lady

--

--