Poem

Dear Winter

Learning from the seasons

Luiza Oliveira
Wild Women Writers

--

Picture by Morea Steinhauer

Dear Winter,

I am so glad that you are back! I must say, I missed you!

All the seasons are very dear to me, but there are a couple of things that I only manage to look at and celebrate when you are around. I hope Summer won’t get me wrong!

With you, my dear Winter, I remember more often to :

  • Slow me down, say more NOs, see more clearly what my priorities are;
  • Take deep breaths along my days, make space to clear my mind and ground myself;
  • Focus on my roots, go deeper underground and look at things that I didn’t manage to look at in the seasons before;
  • Let myself to dream wilder for the year to come, play more with my ideas and my plannings;
  • Be more gentle to myself, take good care of my body, emotions, and relationships;
  • Feel like speaking less, observing more, looking at the subtle aspects of my life more closely;
  • Keep my mind more focused.

To acknowledge your arrival, it is like celebrating the time that I will have to catch up with myself, at a deeper level. It is time for decluttering from inside out.

But yes, I remember when we first met, you in this white form with sub zeros temperatures. It was so new to me. I mean, it was so beautiful, I could feel your love, but the beginning was rough for me though.

I mean, I could feel in my bones my happiness with your presence. I just wanted to run barefoot on the snow and play with you.

It felt so magical, but I didn’t know how to prepare myself for your arrival, for this intense connection, for these huge learnings.

In the begging, I used to get sick very often, and tired all the time.

But you were always patient and showed me the importance of each season. Reminding me that the answers were within myself, to learn how to harvest the many lessons of each one of them. When understood and integrate that in my routine was when I started to get healthier all year long. When I started to become more present in each and every season, and our relationship just grew since then.

Dear Winter, thank you for being this amazing teacher, with so much patience, giving me so much to process throughout the year. Thank you for allowing me to find and redefine myself each time, giving me a re-start for the year to come every time.

Thank you for helping me to keep myself in balance. Thank you for preparing me so well for Spring arrival!

Love you with all my heart.

Luiza

--

--

Luiza Oliveira
Wild Women Writers

I am a person with many passions, practicing a decolonial approach to health. More at possiblefutures.earth/luiza