What Women Want

Sprout Self Love
Wild Women Writers
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2020

Wild Women Writing Challenge- Day Four

King Arthur just pranced into the village desperately asking women what we want! The women are going crazy at the fact that he’s here, and even more baffled that he’s asking for our opinion! Ladies, I don’t know about you, but I’m not bowing down for any king. I don’t care if I’m the only person standing. How is he any better than us? Why do we need to bow to the ground and kiss his feet to show him respect? Can’t we look eye to eye, and show each other respect? After all, he is here for our perspective. It’s time for a change!

Women have been wildly oppressed here, and throughout time. All day we cook, clean and raise the children, while the men get all the exciting opportunities. Men get the jobs, the money, the freedom, the ability to leave the village when and how they want. They treat us like subordinates and think they can take advantage of us! Well we won’t have that any more! We should be treated equally, and given the opportunities and respect that the men are given!

People will no longer tell me what I can and can’t do, what to wear and how to speak. I want to speak my bloody mind! And I’m tired of these damn bodices and twenty layers… it’s hot and my tits are suffocating me! I want to wear what I want and not be ridiculed or taken advantage of! I want to walk freely down the road bodice-less, my tits freed, and not worry about walking in harm’s way by some ridiculous person that treat people like objects. I want to be and do as I please, without anyone telling me what to do or how to be. We’ve been oppressed for far too long in our village.

This is my body, my mind and my spirit; I won’t let anyone else be in control of it.

--

--