“The experience you have isn’t as important as the skills you have”

Ellie Budd
William Joseph
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2018

I recently had the pleasure of recording an episode of the podcast GeekGirl Meets, where I was asked about why I love being a product manager and the things that have helped get me here.

GeekGirl Meets is a podcast that showcases female role models in the tech space. Host Cathy White chats with her guests and unpicks their career, hoping to provide inspiration for anyone considering a career change, looking to get motivated and wanting to explore the unknown.

We discussed my career choices, mentoring, the advice I’d give my younger self, and a bunch of other things along the way. Here’s some of the key things to take away:

My teachers are very good at spotting things about you that you don’t yet know about yourself.

When I was a little girl, I knew I wanted to do good, and I wanted to lead something. One day a teacher stopped me in the playground as I was careering past, probably shouting orders at my friends, and told me she was going to make me the lead in school play because I talked so much. I loved it.

I’ve managed to use my degree in my career, but only realised after it was over

I chose to study English Literature and Fine Art because I enjoyed them, but didn’t know how to use them going forward. It was only at the end of university that I realised communications was a profession, and my skills in crafting words and pictures matched that quite well.

I learnt everything I know about digital best practise from being at Cancer Research UK

Agile methodology. Lean experiments. User testing. Managing a backlog. There is a wealth of knowledge and an environment of safety and trust in that workplace that is very special.

Having a mentor and being a mentor is great

Somebody that will encourage you, be your sounding board and push you to work on yourself beyond your day to day role. Everybody needs one.

The advice I’d give my younger self?

The experience you have isn’t as important as the skills you have.

To listen in full, use the link above or search “GeekGirl Meets UK” on your favourite podcast player.

If you do listen, let me know what you think!

--

--

Ellie Budd
William Joseph

Product Manager at William Joseph. Digital transformation enabler. Good communication fan . Lover of running, travel and equality.