WiMLDS NYC Member Spotlight: Marizza Delgado

Manya Wadhwa
WiMLDS NYC Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 24, 2022

Marizza Delgado, a Data Scientist at Etsy, has been a member of the WiMLDS New York City chapter since 2021. Marizza is a strong believer in the power of community which motivated her to join the WiMLDS NYC chapter. She is inspired by the empowering, multifaceted women in STEM she met through mentorship, past internships, university, and on social media. In this interview Marizza talks about her career and personal learnings.

This picture features Marizza wearing a white t-shirt which says — “Girls who code write the future”
“When you surround yourself with an empowering circle of women, the quality of your work and life improves!”

What do you do in your career?

Currently, I’m a Data Scientist at Etsy, a global e-commerce marketplace keeping commerce human. I’m on their Product Analytics and Strategic Finance team partnering with the seller ad experience team to make it effortless for sellers to grow their business on Etsy. Also for the past 5 years, I’ve been working as a fashion model represented by Stars Model Management in San Francisco and One Management in New York City.

What inspired you to pursue this career (or academic major)?

In 2018, I attended the Grace Hopper Celebration (GHC), the world’s largest gathering of women in computing. I followed the Data Science track because it’s the one that interested me the most and left GHC so inspired to dedicate my career to the field. Then, I transferred to UCSC majoring in Technology Information Management, the intersection of business management and technology.

Which women or gender minorities do you admire in the field?

I’m always rooting for POC in tech, especially Filipina women in tech who are often underrepresented. I really admire Lyndsey Scott, an IOS developer and fashion model, because she’s an example of a multipotentialite who has greatly inspired my career. As a fellow multifaceted woman in technology, I want to show young women that if this is something they want to pursue, there is nothing stopping them!

What is a motto or personal mantra you follow?

My life motto is: Be comfortable being uncomfortable. I wouldn’t have the opportunities I have today if I hadn’t sent that cold LinkedIn message, moved to New York for modeling, or competed in my first pageant. I’ve grown the most whenever I get out of my comfort zone, embrace the unknown, and lean into fear.

Marizza wearing her “Miss New York 2021” sash in the middle of Times Square, New York City, New York, USA
“Be comfortable being uncomfortable.”

What helps you recharge after a long day?

After a long day, I love to recharge by cooking a vegan meal, reading self help books, and indulging in a pint of Van Leeuwen’s oat milk ice cream!

What’s one unexpected thing many people may not know about you?

Outside of modeling and tech, I’m the reigning Miss New York Earth USA 2021 and placed Top 20 in the country. I compete in pageants to spread my platform Women in STEM to a broader audience, serve my community, and meet other empowering women. I’m excited to be competing in Miss New York USA this June!

~WiMLDS NYC Team

You may connect with us through:

▸☎️ Meetup

▸🐦 Twitter

▸🗄 LinkedIn

▸📩 nyc@wimlds.org

--

--

Manya Wadhwa
WiMLDS NYC Blog

R&D Engineer with GS | Alumni Johns Hopkins University CS