What I’ve been up to, wine wise

Robin Shreeves
Wine from all angles
2 min readOct 26, 2016
One of my current columns in the works — a discussion of NJ sparkling wines for the holidays. I’ve been busy collecting and drinking bottles from local wineries — tough job!

So, ya, it’s been a while since I last wrote on Medium. I have been so busy writing about wine that I haven’t had a lot of time to write about wine.

Huh?

In August, I started writing On the Wine Trail, a column about regional wines for my local South Jersey newspaper, The Courier Post. While the paper also publishes each column online, I don’t have an author page that I can link to as one central place with all my columns. So let’s start with this one that explains that NJ has some regions that are great for viticulture, Get to know your own wine country.

I’ve been writing about New Jersey wines for years now, promoting them on my South Jersey Locavore blog and featuring them whenever it was appropriate for websites like Mother Nature Network and Drink Philly. I’ve been training for this column my entire writing career. I consider it the equivalent of the job of New Jersey wine ambassador, and it’s a dream gig for me. It never gets old opening up the Sunday paper and seeing my column. With so much moving to digital, the opportunity to write a weekly PRINT wine column is not something I ever thought I’d ever get.

In addition to the wine column, I’ve been immersed in education about wine and wine regions, traveling (I just returned from New Zealand and a visit to the Marlborough region’s Yealands Winery), and tasting a lot of wine.

Here’s what’s next. I’m going to start publishing here on Medium regularly, but eventually I’ll be moving over to a website that my son is building for me. I’ve bought a domain and will have one centralized site where I can blog, link to my published works, post info about how to hire my writing services, and give updates on any festival/conference/radio/tv appearances I’ll have.

In the fall of 2015 I made the decision to go in the direction of writing about wine and travel, setting a 5-year goal to switch over to those two topics almost exclusively. One year in, I can definitely see success four years from now. I have a lot more to learn. I definitely have more dues to pay before I have my dream career, but I am not complaining.

--

--

Robin Shreeves
Wine from all angles

Wine columnist for the Courier Post newspaper and food, drink, travel and environmental journalist