About wine and studies

Sah. V. Lasso
Wine & me
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2020

in quarantine times, online wine tastings are growing

Photo by Jeff Siepman on Unsplash

As the days go by in the quarantine, I notice the growing offers of free online courses and tutorials, but one specifically called my attention: online wine tasting.

I´m really into wine studies. I did the Module 1 of the Wine Classes in Copenhagen (there are 3 Modules), I´m doing some online courses and now I am into these online wine tastings.

The online wine tastings are cool since they are like a webinar, where you learn a lot of new information, you are interacting with others and you are also tasting wines (if you have them home).

Photo by Maksym Kaharlytskyi on Unsplash

The coolest thing is what I have seen as an online dry wine tasting. This happens when you wanna learn, interact but you do not have the wines to taste home ( I did some of those too and it quite interesting).

I love to see how wine knowledge, that at least for me as for an older man with a lot of time and money, is now being so democratized and open on the wild world of the internet.

It is possible to find university courses focused on wines, tasting courses, and a big range of youtube videos /Instagram accounts focused on teaching about wine.

The most complete, user friendly and beginners friendly for me is the Wine Folly. The infographics are beautiful, the language is easy to understand and they teach you from 0 to hero. Madeline Puckette for me is an example of a teacher that is able to take the knowledge that can be seen as hard and impossible to learn into friendly biteable sizes that you can actually understand.

Photo by Hermes Rivera on Unsplash

Of course, in the wine world, there are so many apps but I personally like Vivino. I can scan the wines before buying, I can rate then and put notes when tasting and I can manage the wine bottles I have home. Also, it is like a community where other users can like and comment on my reviews (it is like a small wine lovers village in an app).

Well, according to the news, the danish lockdown because of the Covid-19 will go on until around May 10th and that gives me time to learn more about wines while staying home and safe!

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
Wine & me

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.