Mulled Wine

Tess Ankeny
WINE LIFE
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2015
Mulled wine ready for sipping

When it comes to recipes, I usually take them more as suggestions — blueprints on which to build and improve until you ultimately perfect the recipe. I love entertaining, baking, and cooking, and my friends and family often joke that the way a dish tastes the first time I make it will inevitably have changed the next time I serve it.

However, this recipe for mulled wine (a holiday beverage staple in my home) is the exception to the above rule. I tinkered around with it, I made additions and substitutions, but after all that I decided the recipe (courtesy of the Barefoot Contessa, Ina Garten) was perfect just as it was originally written. Cheers!

Ingredients

4 cups apple cider (*personal note: the cloudier the cider, the better!)
1 (750-ml) bottle dry red wine (DCanter recommendation: Tortoise Creek Cabernet Sauvignon 2012)
1/4 cup honey
2 cinnamon sticks
1 orange, zested and juiced
4 whole cloves
3 star anise
4 oranges, peeled, for garnish

Directions

Combine the cider, wine, honey, cinnamon sticks, zest, juice, cloves, and star anise in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil and simmer over low heat for 10 minutes. Pour into mugs, add an orange peel garnish to each, and serve.

Personal Note

I recommend doubling this recipe. It disappears quickly.

If you enjoyed reading this article, please share and recommend it! For more sips of wine knowledge and tastes of enjoying life with wine, follow @dcanterwines and read more on www.medium.com/vyne-magazine.

--

--