Vino: 2014 Panther Creek Winemaker’s Cuvee Pinot Noir

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget
2 min readJul 17, 2018

Bodega: Panther Creek
Goods: Pinot Noir
Locale: Willamette Valley
Booze Factor: 14.1%
Fare: $9.97
Whereabouts: Costco
Yea or Nay:

Scoop: Willamette Valley has a great reputation for some very nice Pinot Noirs. Any time I find an affordable Pinot in Costco, I almost always buy a bottle or two to try because most of the time Pinot produces are charging upwards of $40+ for their wines. Panther Creek’s 2014 Winemaker’s Cuvee got a 91 from Wine Enthusiast Magazine. Not too shabby.

I found this to be a very mellow and drinkable Pinot Noir. I didn’t like is as much as the Cigar Box Pinot I reviewed previously but still a very nice and smooth Pinot Noir. Very mellow tanins and great color. I think this would be a great wine to bring over to a friends house and share over something like salmon or a chicken dish.

Looking online I see this wine priced on various sites as high as $28 per bottle, so at $9.97 from Costco, it’s a bit of a steal.

Until next time…

--

--

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget

I'm Scott, and I used to be a winemaker. This space is about finding great wines that don't cost an arm and a leg.