Vino: 2016 Jacqueline Bahue Cabernet Franc

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget
2 min readAug 13, 2018

Bodega: Jacqueline Bahue
Goods: Cabernet Franc
Locale: Sonoma Valley
Booze Factor: 14.5%
Fare: $10.99*
Whereabouts: NakedWines.com
Yea or Nay:

Scoop: Being a huge lover of Cabernet Franc, I had to try this wine from NakedWines.com. (If you have not checked out NakedWines, it’s great fun and some really good deals on wine. NOTE: Full disclosure — that link not only gets you a deal on your first purchase but gives me one too.) Having been passionate about Cabernet Franc since my winemaking days, I used to have quite a collection of Cab Francs around and I made a limited edition for my wine club at one point. I’ve since drunk almost all my collection so when I see one out and about, it usually ends up in my cart.

For those that aren’t super familiar with Cabernet Franc, it is frequently found in Bordeaux blends along with Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. I’ve always said you either love Cab Franc or you hate it. It has an earthiness to it that some people describe as dirt and it’s got a very distinct nose.

The 2016 Jacqueline Bahue Cabernet Franc has great color typical of this varietal and it’s a very drinkable wine, but in my opinion, lacks the characteristics of Cab Frank. It smells a little like I’d expect but it would be easy to mistake it for something else and it hardly tastes like a Cab Franc to me. I gave this a rating of three corks because it’s still a very drinkable wine but it gets two corks for Cab Franc. It’s just missing the mark for what you’d expect in this varietal. If I didn’t know better, I’d say there was another varietal mixed in here but not disclosed. Again, still a nice wine, just not up to my liking for Cab Franc-atics.

Until next time…

--

--

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget

I'm Scott, and I used to be a winemaker. This space is about finding great wines that don't cost an arm and a leg.