Vino: 2016 Sin Fronteras Los Primos

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget
2 min readJul 9, 2018

Bodega: Sin Fronteras
Goods: Red Blend
Locale: California
Booze Factor: 13.5%
Fare: $19.99
Whereabouts: NakedWines.com
Yea or Nay:

Scoop: So even though my goal is to review wines under $10 per bottle, I will be occasionally reviewing wines from NakedWine.com because their unique offering is a great way to try some new and inexpensive varietals.

If you haven’t tried NakedWines.com yet, it’s a great deal and a lot of fun. You essentially “invest” whatever dollar amount you want each month into your account and once you have enough, you can choose from their winemakers whom they have become “Angel Investors” for. I usually sort by “Would you Buy Again” and pick only wines in the 90% and above range. I have not been disappointed. If you are interested in trying NakedWines, they have a $100 of your first case of $160 or more, so you are essentially getting your first case for $60. Not bad. Click here to check it out.
NOTE: To be completely transparent, clicking that link will get you your $100 off but it also gives me a $40 credit for the next time I purchase.

Sin Fronteras Los Primos is a red blend of Spanish-style varietals, however, winemaker Macario Montoya does not mention what specific varietals she uses in her wine. Los Primos is a light-medium bodied wine and I think it can easily pair with just about anything. It’s very smooth and I get more of the fruit in the middle of the taste and it mellows out at the end. Very soft tannins, which reminds me of a Merlot. I’d definitely buy this again and have on hand for people who like a smoother red wine.

Until next time…

--

--

Winemaker on a Budget
Winemaker on a Budget

I'm Scott, and I used to be a winemaker. This space is about finding great wines that don't cost an arm and a leg.