A WINGS Exclusive Interview with Madison Karrh, developer of Birth

WINGS Interactive
WINGS Blog
Published in
4 min readApr 6, 2023

Madison Karrh is a Chicago based game developer and the sole creator behind Birth, a game where you quell your loneliness by creating a partner from spare bones & organs. Funded by WINGS, this unique adventure puzzle experience is enjoying a warm reception from players and press, who have called Birth a “comforting puzzle game about death and decay”. As the developer’s second commercial release, her first being Landlord of the Woods, WINGS was eager to sit down with Madison and learn about her experience in the games industry.

How did you get into the games industry?

Madison: I worked as a preschool teacher for a while before learning how to program. I wrote software for a couple of different non-game companies, while working on my own games on the side. After playing a small, weird personal itch.io games, I had the realization that I could make my own thing!

Were there any programs or events that pushed you to make games?

Madison: I went to University for Computer Science, but didn’t touch game development in school. The programming and math knowledge helped a ton with picking up game dev. The art piece is all self-taught, however. I still read and watch a lot of tutorials on math, programming, art and sound design — I am definitely still learning and hope that I always will be!

What are some of the challenges and opportunities for game development in your region, as compared to other parts of the world?

Madison: I’m very privileged to live in the States, but we don’t have as many funding/grant programs for games, or the arts in general, as our neighboring countries do. There are a lot of great showcases (Day of the Devs, PAX, etc.) in the States, though, which is a benefit!

It’s great to see that Birth is so well received. Could you tell us about your inspiration for the game & some of its unique points?

Madison: Birth is based on my experience living in tiny studio apartments surrounded by other strangers living in tiny studio apartments.

I wanted to focus on the day-to-day loneliness that occurs while living alone — seeing a couple making out in their apartment window, walking past friends having picnics in parks, waiting for your to-go order at the hostess stand while watching people flirt at the bar.

I love when stories focus on seemingly boring things like this.

What were some of the greatest challenges in making Birth?

Madison: Birth is a very personal game and talking about it can feel.. almost embarrassing. Showcasing it at events pushed me out of my comfort zone and required me to exclaim “I was so lonely that I made a game about it.” I think it has helped me connect with so many more people, though. Being vulnerable is important.

A bookshelf in muted brown tones is filled with assorted books, glass jars containing body parts, an old typewriter, and a teacup.

Your game is also funded in part by WINGS — can you tell us how you discovered WINGS and what your experience in working with them has been like?

Madison: Yes, yes, yes! I found WINGS when I was looking for a publisher for Birth, actually. I sent over my pitch deck and my demo and we got on a call the next week! WINGS has been super hands-off and trusts me to make the game that I said I would make — it is great to retain creative freedom. I would not have been able to quit my full-time job to finish Birth without WINGS funding, which has made a world of difference.

How did making Birth impact your outlook/career as a game developer?

Madison: The positive reception to Birth has made me feel so much more confident as a developer. It is a beautiful privilege to be able to spend time making things you love on this Earth and I hope I will get to make so many more.

Do you feel the games industry is MORE receptive to women now, as compared to when you began?

Madison: I think I surround myself with people who do support women & gender diverse folk, so I am not actually sure. I am thankful for organizations like WINGS who amplify stories made by women. I think a lot of people are bored with the same stories being told in video games and crave humanity and diversity. The more diverse humans we have making games, the better and more creative stories we get as a result.

What advice would you give a fellow game developer who aspires to be like you?

Madison: Put your whole self into your game — don’t mask or veil human emotion, don’t try to tell someone else’s story. Tell your own and be vulnerable and raw about it. And try to make things every day! Even if it is just a tiny thing!

Two hands with long reddish painted fingernails are shown in illustration, one is covered in bugs and appears to be holding a piece of paper just out of view. The other is making a pinching pick up motion with the thumb and forefinger.
Birth is available now!

--

--

WINGS Interactive
WINGS Blog

WINGS is funding games by diverse teams, starting with games made by women and marginalised gender developers. Apply now at wingsfund.me!