Accidentally Got Hit By a Car? Here are Four Tips to Help You!

Shuting Li
Winter Linguistics 2019
5 min readMar 12, 2019

Before introducing some useful tips after being involved in a car accident, I would like to share you how I learned my lesson.

In an afternoon, I was planning to go back to Santa Barbara from San Gabriel. It was a long weekend and I went to LA alone for a small trip. There’s a crossroad without traffic lights. I had to go across it to go to a plaza. Then, I checked left and right, making sure it’s safe. Then, I was walking across the road within the line which is for the pedestrian. At that time, I did notice a car was coming from my right but I assume he would definitely stop first and the distance between us is safe. Thus, I kept walking straight. Then, I got hit by that car and I didn’t really remember how I flipped over and tumbled down.

Starting from what I remembered, I was on the ground and my right arm is bleeding. Also, my head was very painful at that time and I can still feel a little bit painful when I touch that part right now. I noticed the driver was still in his car. He even wasn’t willing to come out and help me stand up. Then, I tried to stand up on my own while my legs were shaking and my whole body ached. I lost my Airpod, lipstick, my left shoe, and got my computer and belt broken. The driver finally got off his car and took out 100 dollars trying to compromise me. I was so angry at that time for his indifference, especially he is also a Chinese and spoke Chinese to me. I called 911 and the police came after like half an hour. In this half hour, the driver’s behavior was so weird and spoke Chinese in a different accent which I couldn’t fully understand. He sometimes walked back to his car, seemed like trying to find something, and sometimes went to talk with me, “You are lucky because if my speed is faster you’ve already died.”, which scared me more.

After the police come, he documented some information about me and the driver. Then, the police checked my injuries and asked whether I wanted them to call the ambulance because I hurt my head and didn’t remember how I got hit. I hesitated for like twenty minutes because I was scared by some articles regarding the expensive price for medical treatments in the USA. Finally, I was sent to the hospital by the ambulance.

My first-time ambulance experience:p

This is my story. Now, I want to share you some helpful tips so that next time if you, unfortunately, have the same situation happened to you, you will be less freaked out and receive better compensation.

1. Take as many pictures as you can!

This is especially necessary if you are alone without any witnesses. For me, I was so scared by the driver’s weird behaviors so I didn’t take any useful pictures. Take pictures of the places in case you don’t know where you got hit. Take pictures of the car’s numbers, makes, and models. You will need them later.

2. Check the google map for your exact location before calling the police!

I don’t live in San Gabriel so I have no idea where I got hit exactly. When I called the police, I spent like ten minutes to describe the place where I got hit and it was terrible for me as an ESL learner.

3. Find an attorney ASAP, and following up for updates every day.

Some attorneys will tell you no hurry, you have one year to claim the case. NO! THAT’S NOT TRUE! I got my first attorney at the night I got hit when I was in the hospital. They are super irresponsible. They delayed everything for me and finally said they couldn’t help me anymore. I excessively believe in them and didn’t really know how the whole process is supposed to be. Then, they just stop working on this case. After one month, I felt better and called them. They said it’s too late especially for such as a small case and they are not willing to help me with the case further because ‘such small case’ will not make much money for them. Also, they said it’s all my responsibility.

I got my second attorney through their websites. They are super nice and responsible to help me with it. We signed everything through mailing so I don’t have to go to LA back and forth to do everything on my own. They got my police report within two days in Alhambra. They also arrange the nearest place for me to do physical treatment though it’s quite late. (By the way, I didn’t know Chiropractic is counted as a physical treatment in the USA.) For now, everything is good and I will get compensation for my computer, Airpod, and everything I lost later.

4. Do not ignore mental problems if you notice something goes wrong.

I don’t know if it is common for everyone. For me, I did have situational depression. The first three days after the accident was terrible! I didn’t eat anything and didn’t go to classes because I felt so bad. I felt disappointed by everything. I was disappointed by myself because no one was by my side. I was disappointed by my boyfriend who was in China and could do nothing to help me. I felt extremely disappointed by the Chinese people I met in the USA during this accident(I’m not saying all Chinese people.) because both the driver who hit me and the first attorney is Chinese. I didn’t tell my parents about this case because I don’t want them to worry about me so I am basically alone. I couldn’t sleep well for the entire month because I always dreamed of bloody scenes in the hospital back to the day I got hit. Thus, I believe I would be better if I go to see a doctor or at least a CAPS mentor ASAP. Go to see a CAPS mentor ASAP if you are feeling bad after an accident!

5. For international students: Don’t worry about finance.

I know how social media fakes and exaggerates things while hiding parts of the truth. For example, I’ve read an article which was about how a Chinese student got a $1700000 bill for an operation. However, they didn’t say that this student doesn’t have any insurance with her. That’s why I was so scared about going to a hospital even for a physical exam. Actually, as an international student, the insurance is included in our tuition, at least in UCSB and it will cover most of the fees for your treatment. In this case, the driver’s insurance will cover all of your fees and extra compensation. Therefore, when the policeman tells you that you have to go to see a doctor, go with them.

--

--