An influential decision

Liweng Guo
Winter Linguistics 2019
3 min readMar 12, 2019

When I was a junior high school student, having university aboard was never my thought and would never know that my high school could influence me a lot. At that time, I was planning to become a student of normal high school in China, strict education and plethora of stress coming from every day, and apply a top university in China successfully. However, everything has being changed after I took senior high school entrance examination and apply to the international department of a high school. Senior high school entrance examination is a exam that every junior high school graduated students have to take in order to be qualified high school student. Similar to applying university, the high school that you attain depends on your outcome of this exam, which means the higher score you get in the exam, the better high school and better education you are able to attain.

Before taking the senior high school entrance examination, I was confident and expected to get a high enough score that allows me to go the best high school of the province. Unfortunately, I did not achieve my goal. My chemistry score became the obstacle that break my dream. After knowing the result of applying my dream high school, I was dispirited.At that time, for comforting me, my father advised me that if you cannot attain the high school, how about go the international department of this high school? They will not decline you merely because one of your subject is not good enough. And having university aboard could also be a good option for your future development. After careful consideration in several days, I decided accept my father’s suggestion.

Fortunately, I think this decision is the best decision that I have made so far. International department is different from normal high school. In China, not everyone are able to receive high school education and high school is almost the strictest education step through a person’ s whole life. Every students have to follow the daily schedule arranged by school, have and study the same subjects and classes. There are plethora of assignments and exams that students have to deal with. Studying is the most crucial purpose for them because they have to achieve a high sore in China college entrance examination and go to a good university. Nonetheless, in the international department, academic performance is not the only thing we should focus on. In the international department, teachers emphasize on personal development. We have a lot of activities like volunteering. Before I go to international department, I always pay much attention on my academic performance, and I am not willing to make friends. However, less assignments and pressure provide me opportunities to make more friends and have some social activities, which makes me to be more optimistic.

After I finishing my high school in international department, I successfully applied for my dream university — UCSB. I would never regret that I made the decision that go to an international school because it changed me a lot and made me to be a better person.

--

--