Chinese Tea

Yanchen Liu
Winter Linguistics 2019
3 min readMar 12, 2019

Drinking tea has always been my first choice when I’m considering what I’m going to do during my spare time. As a Chinese, I love drinking tea not only because of its good flavor and medicinal value, but also because of the feeling it brings to me and what I’ve learned from drinking tea.

tea set

China is the origin of tea and it has been more than 4000 years since the Chinese began to grow and drink tea. At first, tea has been used as medicine after Shen Nung, a Chinese ruler in ancient times, found that tea could be used to detoxify. As time goes by, it is found that there are many more benefits that tea can bring us, such as anti-aging, lowering cholesterol level and providing trace elements. As for me, it has been a routine for me to drink tea after dinner because it promotes the process of digestion and helps me to keep fit. Moreover, drinking tea is a good way for me to escape my busy study life and help me to relax. When I’m savoring tea, I feel so calm and my mind gets refreshed. All the pressure of school work and exams has been released.

my drawer filled with different kinds of tea

I learned a lot from the experience of drinking tea with my father when I was a little girl. My father is passionate about drinking tea and he spends most of his free time making and drinking different kinds of tea including green tea, black tea, yellow tea, and white tea. I became so curious about the taste of it and asked him to let me have a try. I picked up the teacup, taking a quick drink, and the bitterness made me spit it out. “It tastes so bitter, why are you so into drinking tea, father?” “Don’t drink so fast! Take it slow, then you will discover the essence of it.” Hesitantly, I picked up the teacup again and swallowed the tea slowly. To my surprise, I found that the taste did have a difference. Although it tasted bitter at first, the bitterness was replaced by the sweetness and fragrance slowly and the bitterness faded away in the end. My father told me, “It is so interesting that you will experience different taste when you drink it in different ways. Savoring tea should be a slow process because you will experience the process of the sweetness replacing the bitterness. Our life is just like this. The happiness always comes after suffering.” Suddenly, I became enlightened. It is true that in our life, most of the success comes only after your persistent efforts. Also, we should take our time to do things instead of so hurrying for the results. That’s what I’ve learned from drinking tea and I fall in love with tea after that experience.

--

--