Dating Cultures between the US and Asia

Reggie Yu
Winter Linguistics 2019
3 min readMar 12, 2019

One day I was working out with my friends, and we saw a smoking hot asian girl working out at the corner in the gym. As a result, one of my friend Matt dared me to ask for her number: “ Yo Reg, I dare you to ask that girl’s number, and I don’t think you coward ass are brave enough to do so.” I shrugged my shoulders: “Aight, It’s just nothing but asking for a number. I’ll take it.” Then I successfully approached that girl and asked for her number. Afterwards, I told Matt that I successfully got her number, and he just went so excited and told me:” Bro I am so proud of you.” He then jumped around and hugged me.I was a little bit confused at that point because I do not think it was a big deal to ask that girl’s number since I did not plan to do anything, probably just talk to her for a purpose of making a new friend, so I had no idea why Matt went so excited.

Two days latter, I ran into Matt again.” Yo Reg, How was it?” Matt asked with a flirty smile.” How was what?” I was confused. “ You know what I mean. How was that girl? Did you smash?” He tapped my shoulder. “No? I did even talk to her plus I don’t have sex with some random girl.” I replied. “ What’s the matter bro? As long as you pipe, it’s all good. What’s the point of asking for her number anyway.” Matt laughed and looked at me. “ Wait, are you for real?” I asked. “ Yeah bro I’m deadass serious.” Matt looked at me sincerely.” This is how it is homie.”

I was shocked because I did not expect American are so open-minded in terms of sex. Then I started to watch a lot of Youtube videos and TV shows and relate to my personal experience to sum up with 3 major madeup dating culture differences in Asian and The US. First, American girls are generally more independent. When it comes to the classic situation of who should pay for the dinner, except both cultures guys usually pay for the first to the third dates, American couples usually split the bill comparing to guys pay for the bill in asian culture. Take myself as an example, growing up my parents told me “a man should never be chary to his girl, it is his responsibility to pay for his love.” The second difference is that American couple has their own privacy and financial autonomy, but asian couples are usually more close and sharing time and money. I have seen a lot of American couples have their own social group and activities, but a lot of Chinese couples have overlapped friend groups and they just stick together every day. The third difference is that American couples are more open in terms of having sex. They usually have sex before they confirm their boyfriend and girlfriend relationship, but for a lot of asian couples they usually wait until their relationship has been confirmed and their intimacy is close enough to have sex.

All of the results were made up due to my personal experience, and of course dating patterns are different for each different individuals. Different people also have their different moral standard, so it is not wise to overgeneralize different people to one group. However, some cultural differences do exsited as I wrote before, but there is no “better one” when it comes to judgement. Love is love, there is no right or wrong, and I am just sharing some interesting dating differences between the two cultures.

--

--