Growing with the Belief of “Chosen One”

Freda Li
Winter Linguistics 2019
2 min readMar 12, 2019
LeBron James 16

The reason for me to play basketball, all started by LeBron James basketball shoes. When I was shopping with my mom at 8 -year-old, passing by the Nike store. I was attracted by LeBron James V’s fancy appearance, elegant design, and soft zoom sole material. There is no reason for anyone to reject this wonderful creature. However, for the principle of reasonable values for money, the price, 1000RMB, is extremely expensive for me as a primary school student who only has income from pocket money.

Therefore, as a smart kid, I planed a strategy that I can show my interest in basketball to my mom then I can convince her to but me a basketball shoe to protect my ankle. By following the plan of myself. I joined the basketball club in my school and work as a point guard. In the second week, my plan was worked! I received my first basketball shoes from my mom. My mom said this shoes is LeBron James V ‘s “Chosen One” edition.It is red in the front and white in the back. There is a bright lion head near the Nike logo which has LBJ letters contains inside. First draft in 2003, the rookie in 2004, NBA all-star since 2005, back to back MVP, three times all-star MVP… The fame of LeBron James is as the same as the stars in the sky. A little kid from Akron grows up to the King in NBA.
The process of believing himself and persisting to every lose achieve LeBron James. Thus, my love for basketball is rising into a different level; it is not only just from amazing LeBron James basketball shoes, but also the belief of “Chosen One.” After that, when I was stressed out at sometimes, I always tell myself that there is no excuse for me to not work hard in both basketball and study. I should be the solider for myself and fight the difficulty. Though I am a busy university student right now which life is filled with due and exams. However, when I have any free time, I will run to the basketball court under the dorm as fast as I can. Because since the moment I touch the basketball and put on my Lebron James basketball shoes. All of my stress is released. There is a voice in my head supporting me loudly “I can do all things!”. Therefore, I am living positively with the belief of the Chosen One.

Freda is playing basketball.

--

--