Living with American family

Hunter Shen
Winter Linguistics 2019
2 min readMar 12, 2019

I spent last six months of my high school senior year with a Mexican family in American. If you ask me how it feels to have an American family, I would tell you that it was awesome.

To begin with, my host family took care of my when my real family was thousands of miles away in China. Although we did not share the same blood, they treated my roommate and me as their own children instead of their clients. There was a time that I had fever and had to lay in my bed, my host mom came to my bedroom to check my body temperature and keep me hydrated every three hours even during the midnight.

Not only that, my American family members are also my teachers. They taught me a lot of ways to say hi in Spanish such as “Hola” and “Como estas”, leading me to take a glimpse at the Spanish World. What is more, they also gave me lessons of lives. They always held positive altitudes to encourage me to do everything. With their encouragement, I joined the soccer team and did quite a good job in the soccer league. When I was rejected by several descent colleges and had a bad time, they took me to the Yogurt Land to make me feel better and told me “If it is meant to be for you, it will be.”

When I first went to America and lived with host family, I was worried about weather I can survive in this new environment. Will I get used to Mexican food? Will I get along with my host family? Will I understand their language? Questions like these troubled me a lot. However, my host family helped me a lot to fit in the new environment and get ready for my college life. Although I am not living in their house anymore, they still send their regards time to time.

After the short six months living with my host family, I went back to my family and taught my family about what I learnt in the past six months. I found myself no longer afraid of making mistakes anymore. Every time when my parents were worried about making attempts, I encouraged them the same way that my host family encouraged me. As a result, my family were all motivated by my enthusiasm.

--

--