My Tattoos and My Family

Yicheng Wei
Winter Linguistics 2019
3 min readMar 12, 2019

When I was in primary school, my aunt got her first tattoo, and it is two dolphins playing soccer using their heads. She told me that her favorite animal is a dolphin, and her biggest dream is to swim with them. Moreover, she is also an excellent soccer player in the province, and she loves playing soccer. At that time, I learned a new form of artwork called tattoo which is created on the skin with the mission to carry the owner’s desires and goals.

After I graduated from middle school, I finally got my first tattoo: it is a drawing of my cat. I bought her home when she was a one-month-old stray cat and my family loves her. She is so meaningful to me that she actually makes me understand the bonding between me and animals are really strong. As a result, I choose life science as my future path and career. Before I got the tattoo, I asked my family for approvement. It was not a requirement and I could do it without telling anyone, but I did not want to hold it as a secret or against my family’s decision. In addition, I trust them and respect them. As long as I expressed my reason in logic, they would never think that I am crazy or “rebellious”. I told them the meaning of my cat and my own comprehension of the tattoo. They understood me and all agreed. Because of their love, respect, and understanding, I can choose my future for myself, they never judge me or criticize my decision. They believe I am mature enough to be responsible for myself, and they will always support me from the back.

A few months ago, I found my favorite artist and asked her to design my second tattoo. I want to get different planets on my right shoulder because stars and planets mean a lot to me. They are a symbol of the dream, and they also frequently appeared in songs, musicals, movies, and stories that touch me. Therefore, this tattoo is larger and colorful than the first one. Although my family also agreed this time, they were worried since it really hurts. I understand their feeling: when I decided to study abroad, they understood me and respect my choice, yet they were crying when I was leaving. For me, both getting the tattoo and away from family are hard to persist, but I choose to not tell them about the risks and always be positive. I love them more than anything in the world, and I never want to make them sad or disappoint them.

No matter my tattoos or my dreams, someone may judge me through them, but my family’s smiles tell me they are on my side all the time. One day, my left shoulder will begin to carry their smiles with me, which is close to my heart.

--

--