Three Things I Learned From Skydiving

Ailu Jiang
Winter Linguistics 2019
3 min readMar 12, 2019

“ Bump, bump, bump” I could hear my heart beating when I was at the opened cabin door. I held my breathe, closed my eyes, held myself tight and preyed the success for my aerial journey. Then, I felt my coach dragged me to let me open my arms. I opened my eyes, looked down, and I saw mountains below me and felt the wind blowing my check. Different from my anticipation, I didn’t feel any weightlessness, even though I was descending at high speed. I opened my arms, and felt myself “flying” in the sky. After a while, the coach opened the parachute, and I was dragged up. The descending speed slowed down and I started to look around. I saw the gulf of Mexico at one side, and as the coach pulled the parachute and turned, I saw the whole view of San Diego downtown. At that moment I was so grateful to my courage that enabled me to have such an unusual experience and let me to feel the charm of a new sport. Skydiving is not as scared as I previously thought, but instead was wonderful and brought me great joy, magnificent view and unforgettable experience. I learned that we should always have the courage to try, to step our first step to things that seems unachievable, because it is always the assumptions created by ourselves that obstruct us from great things.

When I saw the objects on the ground became bigger and bigger, and my feet became closer and closer to ground and finally stepped on it, I was amazed by the technology and the wisdom of human. I can’t stop myself thinking: how unbelievable it is to enable human whom without wings to “fly” in the sky. I believe that there must be lots of people who also dreamed of “flying” but ended up thinking the idea impossible and gave up, until a person called Garnerin who collected lots of information, added his own ideas and, most importantly, tried and invented the parachute. From this, I learned that we should not only be able to think, but also have the courage and perseverance to make effort to achieve them, even they seem unachievable. There never lack great ideas, but lack people with perseverance and courage, and that are always the way to break through.

Finally, I found the importance to express love. Remember at the time I was on the airplane and was about to jump, my coach asked me to say something to the camera, I said, “ I love you mom and dad and I was grateful for everything they’ve done.” Recalling back, after I left home and studied abroad, the contact between me and my parents reduced a lot, and I was always too busy to chat with them and accompany them. Also, I was shy to express my love directly. But at that moment, I was afraid that I would never have the opportunity to tell them, even though the risk of skydiving is tiny. Then, after I completed my skydive, I called them and expressed my love to them. They were surprised and I could tell they were happy. Thanks to skydiving, I realize how important it is to express my love.

--

--