Hanoi

Snipadvisor
Wip Around the World
5 min readNov 19, 2017

I loved Hanoi. A vibrant, bustling city full of energy.

It’s a city you can instantly fall in love with.

The place has character. Especially the old quarter. A warren of small alleyways, that were always busy. Street food, markets and of course plenty of motorbikes.

And probably the best Banh Mi’s in Vietnam. Need I say more.

It felt much easier to get to know than it’s southern counterpart. Much more walkable.

We spent half as much time here but I feel like I know my way around it better.

One of my favourite cities. Up there with Lisbon and that is saying something.

The Cafes

I was on a work hype. I wanted to get prepared for Chiang Mai. I wanted to try completed as much of this writing as I could before I arrived.

But I was happy to work. I enjoyed it.

My screen is filthy!

Taking myself off to a quiet cafe and having some time to myself. Time to reflect on the stunning journey we had just completed.

Hanoi has a surprisingly decent selection of hidden cafes in the most surprising of places. Especially when you consider how busy and noisy the old quarter is.

I checked out Tranquil, a readers paradise where even the staff whisper. Nola, a gem tucked away right in the center of the old quarter and Manzi an art cafe that was always quiet and served great coffee.

Tranquil didn’t quite understand a little when it came to the condensed milk though.

Selling The Bikes

It was always going to be a challenge.

We tried to sell them first on facebook but there was no demand so our poor beaten up bikes didn’t stand a chance.

Even though we had nice pictures like this.

So we got in touch with a mechanic who bought them both off us. Doug got $150 and I got $100. My bastard bike wouldn’t start when I was showing the guy. Just my luck.

I was happy with $100, to be honest. Even if I had got no money back it would have still been worth it. It’s been a trip of a lifetime.

As much pain and money as my crappy honda win has brought me over the past two months I was sad to see it go. We spent a lot of time together.

I am certainly hooked on motorbiking.

Activities

We weren’t feeling very touristy but we did do a couple of activities.

Including visiting a decent jazz club. A teacher and his various students play music every night. I read he encourages them to bring their own Vietnamese influences to their music. They were very good.

I always like a jazz club. It always feels like it attracts a very fine clientele. Even if we did rock up in our nikey shorts, we got to pretend we were one of them.

Keeping to the upper-class theme we visited a very posh golf club. Even though we only went for the driving range we certainly didn’t belong.

Still who doesn’t like hitting some balls around?

A Hair Experiment

The time had come to shave my beard. I had grown quite fond over the months of it but I decided I needed to look less like a backpacker and more like a respectable citizen.

But I thought why do it all in one go.

So I went from this …

To a few days like this …

With a bit a tidying it could have looked presentable

To this …

Because why not

I did finally shave it all off on arriving in Chiang Mai.

The Final Send Off

We struck gold here. There was a craft beer festival the day before our flight. A quality day of sampling the finest craft beer from across Vietnam for a very reasonable price. £4 for entry and 5 taster tickets.

Also, the fact that it was day drinking meant we could still get an early night in order to get up for our flight.

We got there early. Unlike most people.

It was a day session after all.

Our favourite brewer.

They were the only brewer that gave out full sized beers with the taster tickets.

They even gave out free hats.

G

The sun was shining all day.

It got busier and busier

Day turned to night.

Merry turned to drunk

We got a rare photo together.

It was a good ten hours on the ale. I was fair pissed by the end. But it was a great way to end what has been the best part of three months together.

A crazy long time when you think about it. I doubt Kathy could last that long with me. It’s been class.

Doug is a laid back chill traveling buddy. Even if I had to do all the planning and organising. At least he accepted my decisions without question. What more can I ask for.

The Hat

I have been biding my time before getting this gem. I want to keep it in prime condition. It hope it will become my festival hat, my late one has fully earned a long and relaxing retirement.

Goodbye Vietnam

So it has come to an end. After nearly 3 months exploring this amazing country. I’m sad to leave. But the next adventure awaits. Although it is going to be rather less adventurous, I am looking forward to getting down and working. I am going to bring The Community Mind to life.

--

--