Hue and the Underwhelming Hai Van Pass

Snipadvisor
Wip Around the World
4 min readOct 13, 2017

The Hai Van Pass is overrated. Someone should say it. It’s famous simply for being on Top Gear.

While it is undoubtedly stunning, I have been on a fair few roads that have topped it and I am certain I will be on many more. That’s before you even take into account the increased traffic and tourist buses that comes with the fame of the Hai Van.

I have heard the Ho Chi Minh trail above the Hai Van is a better route to take, I wish I had.

But hey, it was still a great drive up and down a mountain with some cracking views.

Like this one
And a nice view of the Danang skyline

I also got my first picture of me on my motorbike.

Only took me a month

A plus of the Hai Van is that it only takes an afternoon to make it to Hue. Whereas I am sure the Ho Chi Minh trail would take far longer.

Hue

The old capital and seat of power for the emperors of Vietnam has a lot history. A walled city, tombs, palaces, shrines etc. We did not see much of any of this due, mostly, to being too hungover.

We stayed at a classic backpacker hostel on a strip of classic backpacker bars. So we did the classic backpacker activity of drinking.

I had fun though.

First night included …

Some much deserved Banh Mi appreciation from Irfan
And, of course, some pool

On our second day, what was supposed to be a sightseeing cruise down the river with a BBQ turned into a booze cruise. It was one of the staff’s birthdays so we skipped the temples and headed straight for the BBQ.

We were not complaining

After we got back we had more beers. It was a heavy 12-hour session. We were both rough the following day but Doug was in pieces. He had to retreat back to the hostel ten minutes after leaving it to find some food.

The following day was also mine and Kathy’s 5-year anniversary 😮. Pretty crazy that I have been with this beautiful lady for five whole years. I guess time flies when you’re having fun.

It’s a shame we couldn’t be together for it, but I did manage to drag my hungover self out of bed for a lovely chat. Aswell as showering her with gifts. Well sort of.

The stand out activity from Hue was the abandoned waterpark a 20 minute drive from the city.

You had to pay, or perhaps bribe, the security guard one dollar and then you could explore the park at your leisure.

Including this cool dragon.

That you could climb.

Riding the dragon

A decent place to explore for the afternoon and different from the usual tourist stuff.

Also, we did eventually see the old city even if it was only a walk around its inner citadel wall. You had to pay to go inside.

Nice wall though

I liked Hue but it was dodgy for some reason. The dodgiest place I have been, apart from maybe Ho Chi Minh. But this was more concentrated.

Moto taxi’s trying to scam you over a ride or sell you all sorts of, probably fake, drugs. We even got our fuel siphoned.

It spoilt the place.

We had a good three days here even if we didn’t see the most touristy of things. Sometimes you just can’t be bothered.

Next, though I was in for a treat. We headed up into the mountains to complete what was an amazing three-day bike ride along the Ho Chi Minh road to Phong Nha.

--

--