My full circle speaking moment

WIPL
WIPL
Published in
3 min readJan 22, 2020

by Erin Bagwell, #WIPL2020 speaker

Over the past six years, I’ve spoken at over fifty events alongside my documentary Dream, Girl in countries like Dubai, Egypt, Tajikistan, and Morocco. While I’ve learned how to take care of myself and serve my audience on the road, it took time and lots of practice for me to become confident enough to share my story

The first event I was ever asked to speak at was the Women in Philanthropy and Leadership Conference in 2015.

I had just raised $104K on Kickstarter in 30 days to produce Dream, Girl and was sitting in my favorite cafe in Brooklyn working on some production logistics when I got a call from the Executive Director of Women in Philanthropy and Leadership Terri DeCenzo. She said she admired the work I was doing, and asked if I would be interested in coming to South Carolina to share my story with the women of WIPL. I told her I would think about it, hung up the phone, and cried. Imposter syndrome set in big time, and I was overwhelmed with the idea of sharing my story when I felt like I was only on chapter one.

The more I thought about it the more I decided it would be an incredible learning opportunity. I would be able to travel, network and meet with other ambitious women, and most of all, I would be able to spread awareness about the film I was making and so passionately believed everyone should see. So I called Terri back and we made plans for me to share what I’d learned about reaching my crowdfunding goal, what it takes to listen to your gut, and the sense of purpose that comes with following your dreams.

A few weeks later, after practicing my 15 minute keynote again and again, I packed my bags and headed south. I was nervous, but also really excited. The imposter syndrome feelings had subsided and I was overcome with gratitude to not only be able to share my story but attend the conference itself.

Thinking back on it now, I’m getting goosebumps because it was an extraordinary couple of days. I got to hear Gloria Gaynor sing “I Will Survive”, met incredible entrepreneurs I’m still friends with today, and most of all, I was able to feel at home in my body.

At previous jobs, my gender and youth always held me back and made me feel like I wasn’t enough. But at WIPL not only was I welcome, I was celebrated. I was overwhelmed with how open-hearted and generous everyone was, but none more than Terri who took me under her wing and made sure I felt seen. She sat in the front row during my presentation and she gave me a standing ovation when I was done.

I can tell you one of the key secrets to my success is being the beneficiary of the kindness and generosity of women like Terri. Time and time again, hands have reached down to pull me up, bring me into the circle, and showed up when I needed them.

That’s what this conference is all about. Creating and connecting to the synergy and magic women’s circles share by listening to each others’ experiences and letting them resonate with the truth of your own- each of us learning, listening, and lifting each other up.

So this year when I got called to speak and share Dream, Girl with WIPL, I didn’t hesitate for a moment. I’m so excited to be joining for another year and to have this full circle moment. I can’t wait to be part of this year’s conference.

See you there!

Xx,

Erin

--

--

WIPL
WIPL
Editor for

Women in Philanthropy and Leadership for Coastal Carolina University inspires & motivates women to lead the change. Learn more at WIPLconference.com.