Miracles in Owning Your Energy

The word ‘energy’ has become a new age buzzword.

Janice Taylor
Wisdom Soul Start(up)
5 min readFeb 3, 2016

--

There was this energy in the room. From the moment I walked in I could feel this inexplicably energy. Was it imagined? Or was it real?

Early in my life, like a sponge, I’d soak up the energy of the room and it would sway my being. Many would suggest this as my ‘co-dependent’ tendencies, and I think that’s probably accurate. In my marriage, my greatest mistake was trying to adopt, resist or fight my ex-husband’s energy.

My energy was often predicated on the whims others. How exhausting, enticing and really, how lazy. It takes no personal ownership and blames others for the energy coursing through us. Wizards who can wave a wand and place an energy in your body.

The only energy we’re responsible for is our own.

Photo courtesy of Pinstripe Productions

What energy do you bring? Are you the person in the room hoping that if the energy were better, you would be better? If the energy in the room is high, then so too are you?

The truth is that as my self awareness has deepened, so has my energy.

In relationships, the adoption of other’s energy is well known phenomenon. Of all the mistakes in my failed relationships, adopting their energy was problem number 1. Wisdom in life shows us that energy is your own and in every instance it’s a choice. My partner is not a well to draw from, but a reflection of what I am choosing to give, a witness, a bystander, and a contributor to their life. He is not my energy well, and, heaven forbid, I am not his. Gasp! I know, a culture addicted to giving others our power, expecting relationships to save us, to fill us, to complete us.

It’s outrageous to think of your energy in the hands of strangers. Our technology vices have changed the dynamic completely and have us hooked on getting outside energy and instant gratification. Ah the confusion, is it me or is that you’? No trust me, it’s not you it’s me.

Quiet the outside: breathe, calm, just be and own your energy.

As more people reject religion, the new way to describe God and our souls is as “energy”, or the now infamous Amy Poehler skit involving the “universe.” Your energy, the universe, consciousness, whichever term, all boil down to one thing: your soul.

Your soul is the piece of energy, being, universe (or in my case, God) that is within each of us. It’s our unifying element. At any given moment, your energy is a reflection of which state you are operating from: Soul or Ego.

When I was twenty, energy meant I was able to get out of bed after an all-night party and get to University. After awhile, when my babies were first born, energy was what it took just to get out of bed and feed them in the middle of the night. The concept of Ego Energy and Soul Energy were absolutely foreign to me, I adopted the factual logical explanation. It was a physical manifestation, energy had nothing to do with the unexplainable.

In my 30s, I started to reflect on this unexplainable energy coursing through my being. The more self-aware I became, the more I could recognize the presence. Running a tech start up that has literally poured from me for the last 6 years, one painful step at a time, I would say my “energy” has deepened, but lost it’s volatility as I can now funnel the force.

Like Star Wars adventures, may the “force be with you” should be the pledge taken among tech founders. I bet most founders will know what I am talking about.

Just a regular energy storm in the JBF Kids Inc. office — with 2015 Leadership Team and Mascot Tottle

Are you able to witness your own energy? Is it DNA hard-coded in its most familiar expression? Not thought about it? Try this definition: Energy is how you share and how you give love. Your energy is your light. Energy is your soul’s breath, the hazy steam in the cold night. In the light of day, if you imagine your soul breathing, your energy would be its expression.

Is your energy life-giving or suffocating?

When it comes to starting anything, there are limitless stories of barriers, often referencing ‘energy’. Energy is the scapegoat of why not. Excuses after excuses: I just don’t have the energy after kids, job, husband, friends, exercise, meditation, therapy…and on.

We create our lists and spend our physical energy on others. When we meet that woman, that person, the one who exercises, takes time for herself, creates solid boundaries, expends energy developing awareness…we call her selfish. How dare they show that level of energy? What will happen to my scapegoat if someone shows us otherwise?

How effective do you really think you are, spending your energy on others without giving yourself the oxygen you need?

Photo courtesy of Pinstripe Productions

There are two types of energy: life-giving and life-taking. Make two columns for yourself: one for each type of energy. Everything in your life will go in one column or the other. Food, friends, jobs, clothes, spouse, children, house, geography, finances…just list them in the column they belong.

When you’re done, notice which column is longer. What’s one thing you are willing to change and bring to the life-giving column? It’s simple, but you have to take ownership over the energy you bring.

Own it, change it and give your energy the oxygen it needs.

--

--

Janice Taylor
Wisdom Soul Start(up)

Entrepreneur, speaker, mom. Founder of Mazu; a social media village built on core values, safety and curated content for families. Author of Wisdom.Soul.Startup