On Adding Value

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2022
Some of my Wedding Photography — Adding Value — Gelani Banks

Everyone can’t add the same type of value.

I can’t be the only one that struggled to discover my tangible skills.

My brothers are both tremendous musicians.

One got accepted into Berklee College of Music for Sound Engineering

The other is on getting his undergrad in Music Composition and wants to attend Yale’s music program for his PHD.

I remember as I got older that I would carry envy towards my brothers.

Not because I wanted to play piano or drums or any instrument like them,

but because I didn’t feel like I was good at anything tangible in a meaningful way.

I didn’t feel like I had a skill that could immediately add value.

I also didn’t’ feel like I was creative.

Do you know what that feels like?

Seeing everyone around you make use of their skills.

It’s defeating.

I struggled for about 80% of my life until I accepted my truth.

We don’t have to be good at everything.

But we all are good at something.

In order to add value, you have to figure out what that is.

You have to remove yourself from what you want to be good at and

submit yourself to what the world needs from you.

I write every day.

That doesn’t mean I’m an excellent writer.

Considering my writing journey, it’s exciting how I’ve improved.

I didn’t have the confidence to write until I was a senior in high school.

I didn’t pick up a camera to express myself via pictures until 2019.

I’ve learned through my career that I enjoy taking complex concepts and

breaking them down until they are easily digestible for others.

These three things I’ve found add value.

I also work in real estate development.

I’m probably an expert at Excel if you compare my skills to the world population.

I remind myself that in my field there are people that are naturally more

talented at crunching numbers than I am and that’s okay.

I do my best to get better because I enjoy it.

I know that the people who may be able to underwrite a mixed-use

development real estate deal from scratch with their eyes closed probably

can’t communicate as well as I feel I can.

How can you help others?

That’s where I’ve decided to add value.

What about you?

You aren’t good at everything.

But everyone is good at something.

Be on the journey to find that something and grow more confident in that

skill for the rest of your life.

Happy searching.

Enjoy your walk.

--

--

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks

Husband. Dad. I work with numbers as my 9–5 so I write and take pictures to build my creative muscles. Mostly writing for my son.