On Answering the Question: Yes or No

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks
Published in
2 min readAug 11, 2022
Downtown Norfolk — Gelani Banks

How much time do we waste living in limbo?

One of my close friends from college tries to decide her level of interest in a guy.

She can’t make up her mind because she doesn’t know if he’s interested in her.

Even though she’s disheveled, I try my best to encourage her.

She needs the encouragement because her approach is feeble.

The master plan was to wait until he makes the first move.

“How long will that take?”

Of course, she has no answer.

A week or two would be ideal, but being in limbo could turn weeks into months.

Not a good plan if you ask me.

Every time I break down the approach I think is best,

She get’s nervous

“But what if he doesn’t like me?”

Then at least you’ll know the answer.

Anything else is torture.

Self imposed agony.

And we do it to ourselves.

Why are we content with a life in limbo when it doesn’t have to be?

We wish to be in control but give it up while waiting for another answer.

Imagine you receive the answer you want or need to make an informed decision.

How much relief would that be?

No more internal stress or every move being calculated.

No more doubt.

Additional Peace.

Now imagine you receive an answer, but not the one you expected.

The disappointment is heavy like an anvil on your neck.

But it doesn’t kill us.

Quit the opposite.

It can give us the same peace of mind as the answer we thought we wanted.

The man of your dreams is in love with you.

Great now you know.

The woman of your life leaves you on read when you proclaim your love to her.

Great now you know.

The initial result may not be the same, but the similarities are you can move on once you

reach the fork in the road instead of waiting for someone else to give you directions.

Getting to yes or no as quickly as possible saves so much energy

and in my friend’s interest, potential heartbreak.

Solve for the answer. Treat it like math.

Get to yes or no as quickly as possible and move on with your life and never look back.

Enjoy your walk!

--

--

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks

Husband. Dad. I work with numbers as my 9–5 so I write and take pictures to build my creative muscles. Mostly writing for my son.