On Respect > Love

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks
Published in
2 min readJul 18, 2022

You don’t have to love everyone.

However, for the people that you do love,

make sure to always show them respect.

I’ve learned the hard way that love and respect should be Sunday morning tennis partners.

A friendly volley back and forth.

Remember the casual Sunday morning meeting can’t last forever.

There are people placed in our lives for a moment,

And your feelings for them may change over time.

That’s okay.

You can stop loving someone.

The reasons why?

They vary.

You can even stop liking them as a person.

But no matter if you get butterflies in your stomach when you think of someone or not.

There will always be a list of people in your life that deserve respect.

I’ll let you decide who should be on that list.

For me?

My wife (the mother of my son)?

Respect.

My parents and brothers?

Respect.

My dearest friends?

Respect.

Let’s not forget who we claim we respect.

I dare you to calibrate your list of who you respect with this next question.

When was the last time you put someone on your respect list in a compromising or embarrassing position?

Is this someone you claim you respect?

Embarrassing someone is the quickest way to lose respect and even trust.

Gone forever.

Seemingly impossible to get back.

You will progress the way you desire when someone knows you respect them

And you’ll get even further if you earn people’s respect instead of searching for “fans”.

Only a small amount of people in this world will love you unconditionally.

It’s no coincidence that the people who love you unconditionally are also the people you respect wholeheartedly.

I hope you would rethink how you treat the people in your life.

The people that you claim to love.

Don’t be two-faced.

Don’t have people waiting for you consistently.

Keep healthy communication.

Treat people well.

In order to get respect, you must first give it.

That’s how you realize the formula of respect > love.

Once you understand the math you’ll be able to notice that in practice,

The > slowly turns to =

Enjoy your walk.

--

--

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks

Husband. Dad. I work with numbers as my 9–5 so I write and take pictures to build my creative muscles. Mostly writing for my son.