You’re Not Ready and That’s Okay.

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2022

I can’t count the times I convinced myself I wasn’t ready.

It never mattered whether I was.

Sometimes we feel paralyzed because we “feel” like we aren’t ready.

We lack the courage to stand up with our chest high.

Not in a boastful way, but with humble confidence.

The number of times we passed up an idea.

Not because you didn’t want it, but because you didn’t think you were ready.

If you spend your life getting ready, you’ll let the opportunity walk away.

You will never be ready.

Sure you can practice, but being ready is an excuse.

We’ve all seen that Steve Harvey clip where he talks about taking chances.

We all know what it feels like to jump.

I took a swimming class in college.

It was just to get an easy A.

I was already a lifeguard so I figured this would be great.

And it was.

Except for during the final swim test,

I had to jump off the 20-foot high dive.

It was scary.

Even for someone who knows how to swim.

Was I ready?

No.

But I got myself to a point where I was comfortable and stepped right off.

I didn’t exactly jump.

But the end result was the same.

I wasn’t ready, but I took a chance.

Take a chance today.

Enjoy your walk.

--

--

Gelani Banks
Wisdom Walks

Husband. Dad. I work with numbers as my 9–5 so I write and take pictures to build my creative muscles. Mostly writing for my son.