Why I Won’t be Taking Vitamin D Supplements This Winter

Hype aside, most of us don’t need it

Denny Pencheva, MD
Wise & Well

--

Photo by Laura Pratt on Unsplash

I’ve been taking 600 IU of vitamin D3 every day in winter, for years. In mid-November, I’d buy my “winter’s supply.” I would start supplementing when sunny days get rare (usually beginning of December) and take it until about March.

Why this regimen?

600 IU is the Institute of Medicine Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) for adults my age. I choose vitamin D3 because research suggests it’s more efficient than D2. And, I do it in winter, because that’s when there’s less ultraviolet-B light, especially if you live north of the 37th parallel. UVB light triggers the body’s natural production of vitamin D.

Reasonable enough? Yes, until you dive into the science behind the supplement.

This year, I did some more digging and a vitamin D supplement no longer sounds like a good idea. Unless you need it for a specific condition (talk to your doctor for personal medical advice), you might not need it either. Here’s why.

Why you need vitamin D

There are two main reasons:

  • Musculoskeletal health (especially bone health)
  • “Non-bone” benefits

--

--

Denny Pencheva, MD
Wise & Well

Medical doctor, clinical nutrition resident, science-backed health advice enthusiast. I'll give you my best hacks to get 1% healthier every day!