Why I’m Sticking With Lumosity Brain Games

Does it really work? Well, I remembered the name for a kumquat!

Annie Foley
Wise & Well

--

Image by: Finger Billion/PETTET/Canva

I had only played Lumosity games for three weeks when my husband pointed at a stack of small orange objects in the produce department. What are those things called again? You know, they’re kinda bitter. I glanced at the pile and said kumquats without missing a beat. My husband was startled at my rapid-fire response. But he wasn’t as flabbergasted as I was. I had never eaten a kumquat.

Months before the grocery-aisle fruit trick, I’d been living through a slump with brain fog and sluggishness. My “puttering along” was more like sputtering, with intermittent backfires. Frustrated, I searched the internet for solutions, fully aware that each product promising a better brain might be snake oil.

I knew games like bridge and chess can sharpen thinking, so I did a cursory evaluation of computer brain games and landed on Lumosity. I didn’t think it offered more compelling results than other brain game programs. But I had a coupon.

So I plunked down $11.99 a month for a premium membership ( Brain HQ, a competing product, is $14.99 a month) and began testing Lumosity out with the help of its official training calendar.

--

--

Annie Foley
Wise & Well

Retired Dermatologist/Internist, top writer in Health and Life, contributor to Wise & Well. Author of the poetry collection, What is Endured