Illustration by JR Fleming

‘The Mandalorian’ Is Bad and the Whole World Has Gone Mad

Thomas Ambrosini
Wisecrack
Published in
7 min readJan 9, 2020

--

As far as conspiracy theories go, you can call me pretty skeptical. The earth is round, fluoride is good for your teeth, and Mark Zuckerberg is unfortunately not a lizard-person. But there’s one conspiracy theory I hold near and dear, no matter what my smarter, cooler, and overall superior peers say. I am, according to Rotten Tomatoes, one of the only 6% of people who believe that Disney’s new show, The Mandalorian, is bad.

It’s not like I want to hate on The Mandalorian. The production value of the show is off the charts, and Boba Fett was by far and away my favorite character in the original trilogy. But eight episodes have come and gone, and I can’t help but ask all the show’s legions of fans one simple question: “Why?” And like my tinfoil hat-wearing brethren, this one seemingly innocuous question forces me to live in varying states of occasional smugness and perpetual confusion. Is this some elaborate trick pulled by Disney? Is there some kind of subliminal messaging in Baby Yoda’s babbling? I’m not categorically against “fun.” I’m not a monster. So here, in earnest, is my case. And you better believe I’m going to spoil some things below.

Space Cowboys Don’t Make a Western

The Mandalorian really wants you to believe it’s a Western set in space — so much so that our Mandalorian himself…

--

--