Bui Vien the bars and backpacker’s street

Samir Abourizk
WisePass
Published in
3 min readJul 18, 2019

--

I pulled up in Bui Vien for the first time

Being in Ho Chi Minh for a week only I was looking for a place where I can go to have a drink, meet some people, have fun. I decided to follow a friend’s advice, which was to go to this famous street full of bars & backpackers.

Jumping on my motorbike I ride to there and my first step into the neighborhood was a little sneaker shop located in a street perpendicular to Bui Vien. It stirred up my curiosity, then I took a look at the entire shop and here is what I found, Yeezy 500, Off-white shoes, Nike Reacts, Jordan’s and many more. All I can say about it is that I’ve never seen copies that good, with such quality.

Anyway, I continued to walk a few meters and I was in Bui Vien, I felt just like I was submerged by the lights, the colors, and the abundant crowd constantly moving. Vietnamese, French, British, Africans, Americans you can meet every nationality in a street smaller than 1 kilometer. Everything can happen in this street, fire eater, snake trainer, musicians and singer, enough to satisfy all kinds of expectations.

I didn’t know which bar we were going to try we were just walking around enjoying this particular mood. Finally, we heard a hip-hop playlist in a bar which was looking like it was mine, curious and probably excited to see who was dropping those songs so I decided to stop there and try the so-called 96 bar.

Balloons, cocktails & food, everything was made to keep us there for hours, moreover, an interesting fact is that the owners allow their customers to choose & handle the music, a concept that pushes them to share, communicate among them, discover each other and partying together.

After a thousand drinks and balloons, we moved from the 96 Bar with foreigners we met in, to ride the streets and see what’s poppin in. Without surprise, despite the hour, the street remained animated and full of lights. That was an amazing moment that will be a great memory, I was thinking about all I saw this night while my friends were already looking for a club where we can end it, but it will be for another story…

--

--