5 lessons I learned as an intern transitioning to a full-time UX writer

Erika Wang
Wish Engineering And Data Science
4 min readSep 10, 2021
Design by Sharon Pan

After three months of interning at Wish, I transitioned to full-time as a UX writer. Now that I have more of a grasp working full-time, I’m thrilled to share a few lessons I learned along the way.

1. Take the time to relearn the company and your team

Upon returning to Wish, I assumed I already knew the ropes because I interned just a few months prior. However, many things can change in a company that just entered the stock market a few months ago. Things at Wish move quickly, and I needed to take a few days to get acclimated again.

I tend to jump into a new task and immediately start doing things, whether that be volunteering for projects, attending every optional meeting, or just getting things done. While these are all important, they are not nearly as important as taking the time to slow down and learn about the company once more.

Also, a couple of new faces have joined my team while I was away. The first few weeks are the perfect time to set up coffee chats with them!

2. Ask a lot of questions, and ask them frequently

I sometimes struggle with speaking up because I’m afraid of asking “dumb” questions. But, if you have a question, someone else probably has it too.

When I was an intern, I would ask questions such as, “Why do we do this in this way?” Once I transitioned to full-time, for some reason, I thought that luxury was over. However, that should never be the case. I quickly learned that I can, and should, frequently ask questions, whether it be with my immediate team, manager, or another team at Wish.

Wish allows me to be open with thoughts and opinions, and my team never makes me feel inadequate if I don’t know something. Don’t be afraid to ask questions, no matter how “dumb” you think they are.

3. Failure isn’t forever

During my internship, I experienced a ton of trial and error. And that doesn’t just go away now that I’m working full-time. I tend to be hard on myself for not immediately knowing exactly what to say or write. I also would get upset at myself for doing something “wrong.” I struggled a lot with proving to myself that failing isn’t permanent.

Learning to accept failure and growing from it takes a lot of time and patience. When you make mistakes, your confidence can take a hit. It took me some time to realize that failing is a great learning lesson for regaining my confidence and working twice as hard.

Failing is necessary to grow, and I’ve now come to terms with the idea that failure brings me one step closer to perfecting my work. Shake off that negative feeling and take it as a positive learning experience.

4. Imposter syndrome is common

I learned what imposter syndrome is pretty early on during my internship. For me, imposter syndrome is often felt as self-doubt and the stubborn belief that achievements are nothing more than pure luck. I wouldn’t fully acknowledge my successes.

Imposter syndrome is often associated with perfectionism and overworking. It’s great to have high standards, but it’s not beneficial if you are burnt out, tired, and tense. Instead of trying to reach perfection, try to work as a human. Humans take breaks, are compassionate towards themselves, and move at their own pace.

When I joined the team, I was worried about not having enough experience, which hindered my confidence. Unknowingly, I’d put negative thoughts in my head. However, instead of criticizing myself, I appreciate my skills and how they got me to where I am.

Imposter syndrome isn’t just common amongst young people: It can affect even the most experienced. While at Wish, I’m fortunate enough to attend virtual writing conferences and talks with senior guest writers. One senior writer, in particular, expressed how easy it was to fall into the trap of comparison and self-doubt. I was surprised that someone with many years of experience could still encounter these feelings. Their words assuaged my fears and helped me make peace with those feelings. Imposter syndrome can happen to anyone, but it’s often not rooted in reality. Don’t let it get you down.

5. Keep calm and write on

One of the most important things I learned while transitioning is to keep calm. I was surprised by how quickly I grew over these last few weeks, and I can confidently say that the nerves, the anxiousness, and the confusion slowly strip away with time.

Be confident in yourself, your skills, and your knowledge. There will always be new challenges along the way. Transitioning from an intern to a full-time position is deemed trickier than I had previously assumed, but it’s not nearly as daunting as my initial thoughts led me to believe.

Now, after an entire month of working full-time, I’m speaking up, trying new things, and believing in myself. It’s important to remember that just because you’ve interned before doesn’t mean you’re expected to be an expert. Take your time, ask a ton of questions, learn from your mistakes, move forward, and trust in yourself.

Huge shoutout to my manager Raine for encouraging me to share my thoughts and helping me along the way, and the entire writing and copy team for always allowing me to grow and learn unapologetically.

If you’re interested in joining Wish and being a part of something special, check out our current openings here!

--

--