The People Behind Wish: Employee Spotlight with Erin Brusseau

Monica Kielawa
Wish Engineering And Data Science
2 min readMar 30, 2022

--

For this employee spotlight, we’re highlighting Erin Brusseau, Director of Content Moderation Operations. Erin lives in Chicago, IL with her partner, Ian, her son, Leo, and their two cats, Moo (short for Moolah) and Puca. She’s an avid vinyl record collector, DIYer, and her glasses collection is unmatched this side of the Mississippi.

Monica: Why did you choose to work at Wish?
Erin:
I started at Wish in November of 2021. My role coordinates both our Content Moderation and Content Policy efforts, as we work to make Wish the best experience for our customers and merchants. I’ve spent my career in various Operations roles, managing moderation, content QA, trust and safety, and support teams. Wish’s discovery model has intrigued me since I first encountered it a few years ago. When I saw this role open, it combined several areas of my work I’ve always enjoyed. That was the spark that opened the door, and meeting future colleagues during my interview process sealed it. I knew I wanted to work with this amazing team and be a part of what was happening at Wish.

Monica: As a content moderator, how do you keep learning and developing your skills?
Erin:
The future of Content Moderation and Policy, both at Wish and industrywide, is automation combined with manual reviews. I do my best to keep up with new ideas in manual efficiency and technology changes, and now I also get to dig into policy. To keep up, I read about consumer protections, regulating bodies, and legislation both in North America and Europe. As someone who loves an information rabbit hole, I enjoy the research!

Monica: How are you charting your career at Wish?
Erin:
Success at Wish for me will be streamlining and refining all our Content and Policy efforts, while supporting and developing my team members. I treat every interaction as an opportunity to learn, and there is so much happening here at Wish that I am not sure what direction my career here may take. The road looks like an adventure, and I’m just so happy to be here.

Join our team! Learn more about open opportunities here.

--

--