What is Witcraft?

Doug Jacquier
Witcraft Writing
Published in
1 min readAug 10, 2024

Witcraft https://witcraft.org/ is dedicated to skillful writing that is brief, humorous and engaging. The emphasis will be on wit, word play, absurdity and inspired nonsense. Whether your work is designed to raise a smile or a belly laugh, I want pieces that are a refuge from the relentless barrage of negativity, angst, war and climate catastrophe that dominates the web.

Currently this a one-man-show operated by Doug Jacquier of Six Crooked Highways infamy, whose work has been published in Australia, the US, the UK New Zealand and India. It has arisen from an old man’s frustration with the dearth of true wit and humour on the interweb. As we grow, we hope to add other international editors and readers from my networks.

I have been writing episodically since my teenage years but only started writing seriously when I retired from work as Vice-President (Asia-Pacific) for TechSoup Global, a US technology charity, in 2014.

I am Australian and I work from the Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia. My stories, non-fiction and poems have been published on over 90 journals and anthologies in Australia, New Zealand, the US, Canada, the UK, and India. I have self-published two story collections: ‘Raving and Wryting — Bite-sized wit for our desperate times’ and ‘On the verge of extinction’, both available on Amazon.

I have been a volunteer reader for several publications, including ‘101 Words’ and ‘Flash Fiction Magazine’ and currently PencilHouse.

Doug Jacquier

Editor

--

--

Doug Jacquier
Witcraft Writing

Doug Jacquier lives in Victor Harbor, Australia. He writes stories and poems and is the Editor of the humour site Witcraft https://witcraft.org