Kneeling Does Not Disrespect the Flag

But Do You Know How Many Things Explicitly Violate the U.S. Flag Code?

Heather M. Edwards
With Liberty

--

All rights © AliExpress

American fencer and Olympic champion Race Imboden has joined the ranks of peaceful protestors utilizing their platform to advocate for their fellow Americans.¹

“We must call for change. This week I am honored to represent Team USA at the Pan Am Games, taking home Gold and Bronze. My pride however has been cut short by the multiple shortcomings of the country I hold so dear to my heart. Racism, Gun Control, mistreatment of immigrants, and a president who spreads hate are at the top of a long list. I chose to sacrifice my moment today at the top of the podium to call attention to issues that I believe need to be addressed. I encourage others to please use your platforms for empowerment and change.”²

Not all Americans experience America the same way. Just because we live in the same country does not mean we are living the same life. And Imboden leveraged his spotlight to shine a brighter light on racial injustice and violence in our country.

Yet this athlete kneeling before the flag has not reignited the same village-burning outrage as when Colin Kaepernick, guided by his collaboration with US Veteran Nate Boyer, knelt during the national anthem.³

--

--