Why this newsletter? Why now?

Rob Echlin
Family fun and software development
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJan 7, 2024

Starting again, on about the same path.

Photo by author. Flooding river, trees, sunset.

Why?
Let’s start with I.

Why am I here?

Why am I here, writing?

I like to write.
I like to write funny stuff.
I like to share my experiences in the spirit world.

I also write about community - intersecting with the idea of love, and yeah, I do write about love.

Not all of that stuff makes it to Medium. It doesn’t always feel like a good fit there. Or maybe I am holding me back?

Now for the other “I” — the important one:

Why am I (the reader) here?

  • on earth?
  • reading this newsletter?
  • In this role, this relationship, this family, this chosen family, this group or that group?

Sometimes I talk about things that relate to “why am I here?”. You might see yourself in them, maybe, a little bit?

That’s enough challenging material for today.
The rest is personal and fun.

The Woods

When I walked in town
The trees were nicely shaped and beautiful.
The grass was trimmed and lovely.
The ground was flat and easy to walk and run on.

When I walked in the woods
The trees were tall and straight and high above, some with broken limbs, dimming the daylight.
The grass was wild marsh grass, 6 feet tall, and in the bush where there was light, there was just brush.
The ground was rough, with surprising wet bits. Run? Sure, carefully, under the tall trees and on the trail.

I loved walking in the woods as a kid.
My wife and I just bought a lovely woods.
We are feeling all the eagerness, and hope to get across the wintery crown land to it by March or April.
My wife is finding and breaking up wood pallets, some 8 feet long, into boards for an outhouse and stuff.

The wood is leaning on the walls in the living room
Both pallets and post-pallet boards.
We have to keep it safely out of reach of our bunny.
I mean for his safety: leaning boards can fall.

Stuff for you

I will provide some exclusive content, like the above, in this newsletter.

Why now?

I am starting to write more. I would like feedback on my writing.

Comments in Medium are almost exclusively about the content, not the writing. This means I don’t get that type of feedback from Medium.

If you like, feel free to let me know what you think of my writing!
I need and welcome suggestions for improvement!

Also, from stuff I mentioned above or posted on Medium, which topics do you like?
Are there related topics you are interested in?

Send notes to a9qehkeck@mozmail.com — they will be forwarded to my email address.

When is the next newsletter?

I expect to put out this newsletter every two months, so the next one should be in March.

Ciao!
And thanks!

--

--

Rob Echlin
Family fun and software development

Black Lives Matter. Truth and Reconciliation. This is my place to be authentic. To write about my spiritual path, and my technical life.