Asheville: A Place for All Seasons, Foodies, & Dogs

Lize Kinsler
Within A Hundred
Published in
5 min readFeb 1, 2016
Metcalf Overlook on I-26 during the winter (left) and during the fall (right).

Asheville has easily become a favorite day trip for us. When Nathan and I first started dating in May of last year, I told him he needed to take me on an ‘official’ date that was just the two of us. Most of our dates at this point had been with other people (mainly the few coworkers who knew we were ‘talking’). When I showed up at his house on a Friday afternoon, I was expecting a typical date at Chili’s with dinner and drinks.

As we began driving on 1–81 S and then took I-26 E, I was then told that we were going to Asheville. Unlike me, Nathan is not a trip planner. He had made no official plans as to what we were going to do when we arrived there. Honestly, this was just what I needed. I needed an evening of no plans. An evening to where I could get to know this man that I have grown to love so much.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures from this trip. I actually kept my phone in my purse the majority of the night. That says a lot, because that device is ALWAYS attached to my hand. The best part about putting my phone away… conversation. We talked about anything and everything. I’m very introverted when I first meet people. That was not the case with Nathan. Even now still, we eat dinner together at the table every night, put our phones away, and just talk. My introverted self becomes an extrovert when I’m around him. Which explains why it takes me twice as long to eat as it does him. I never shut up.

Okay, enough mushy stuff. Back to Asheville… including our first date, we have now been to Asheville three times. We have been during the late spring, peak week in the fall, and after a snowfall in the winter. One of my favorite parts about going to Asheville is just the drive. Each season represents a new chapter in this book that we call life. It always reminds me of how truly blessed I am to live in a region as beautiful as this one.

This article is going to be a little less of a story and more of a list of our favorite places to visit in Asheville.

Good Eats

Nathan and I neither one are picky eaters. We enjoy trying new foods, restaurants that are not chains and have unique dining atmospheres. Whenever we plan a trip I always Google search ‘where do the locals eat?’. With Asheville being the hipster town that it is, fresh and organic meals are not too hard to find. Here are some of our favorite restaurants:

  • Laughing Seed Cafe is located in downtown Asheville. Vegan/vegetarian Mediterranean bliss. Weather permitting, sit outside and enjoy live music.
  • Biscuit Head. They actually have two locations now. Be prepared to wait in line outside, but it’s totally worth it.
  • The Barleycorn is located on Haywood Rd. Get the farm fresh burger with bacon jam. Just do it.
  • Sunny Point Cafe is also located on Haywood Rd. Let’s just say that our server’s high energy level was proof enough that he LOVED his job. He was my definition of the perfect server. Another plus about this joint, they serve breakfast all day.
  • Double D’s Coffee and Desserts. Double D’s as in double decker bus. ;) Enjoy a fresh cup of Joe or a speciality drink from the top of the bus. It’s a great place for conversation or people watching. Just be sure you have cash, that’s the only form of payment they will accept.

Things to Do

  • Take a hilly stroll through downtown. There are so many neat shops, restaurants, bars, and dogs to see. That’s right, dogs. We’ve not taken our pups, but Asheville is definitely a dog-friendly town.
  • The Asheville Art Museum. I have always loved museums, but art museums have never really been my thing… until Nathan came along. I think his love for art helps to make me appreciate it more. You can hear the passion in his voice while he’s explaining mediums and artists. Anyway, check out the art museum. It’s inexpensive and gives you a taste of culture.
  • Asheville Outlets. Remember how I said in the Down on Main Street story that we’re constantly looking for treasures for Nathan’s new house? We love going to the West Elm outlet. For an outlet, their prices are still a little steep for our liking. But the clearance section never disappoints.
  • Trader Joe’s. We go for the wine. No, seriously. Where else can you get a case of wine for $35?
  • Three places I have been in Asheville, but not with Nathan, that you should check out: 1)A concert at The Orange Peel, 2)visit Biltmore at Christmas time and in the spring, and 3)hike Chimney Rock in the summer.

I think back to that first official date with Nathan. I’m pretty sure that’s when I fell in love with Asheville… and him. I now know why it’s been given the nickname Romantic Asheville. 💜

--

--