Am I wrong for getting upset?

Delenny De La Cruz
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition
2 min readMar 12, 2021

Coronavirus impacted the lives of many people and the lockdown made it impossible to spend time with others. My father at the moment watched the news on a day to day basis to stay informed about everything “corona,” which didn’t bother me until I realized this was how I was going to spend my next couple of weeks. For some reason I had the biggest annoyance with having to hear about the number of the deaths increase everyday over dinner, lunch and even breakfast. We were in quarantine, but my dad still told me what would happen to me if I went out — as if I was going to. This was something that made my dad upset because I expressed to him that this was going to drive us crazy and he would never fully accept the virus if he was constantly worried about it reaching us in quarantine. Am I wrong that the staggering number of deaths made me upset because each death was like a lesson my dad was trying to teach me?

I learned that I was wrong about the way I expressed this issue to him because people were losing their lives in the comfort of their homes. The virus attacked their immune system and they had no way of fighting it because they were not strong enough. I rethought this situation and considered my grandma who was only 15 minutes away and how something like this could happen to her. I was nervous, in a panic and stressed, worrying about my grandma’s health and well being. Maybe I was wrong for over reacting to the news? Maybe I should have cared more about the virus updates and how it could impact MY life. This was more than just the news, the news COULD have been my life.

Sympathy is like a wake up call, it reaches some people sooner than others and when it does, it hits like a truck.

--

--

Delenny De La Cruz
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition

I enjoy reading and writing about very important matters that occur on a day to day basis. I also enjoy looking into others opinions and learning more from them