Angry, But Still Sympathetic

Kaylyn Noel
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition
2 min readMar 12, 2021

Ever since the COVID-19 pandemic started, there have been many different feelings felt and expressed, one of those including sympathy, of course. The pandemic has hurt and effected so many people and communities in so many different ways, and when hearing the stories of how the pandemic has hurt so many, it has definitely brought on deep feelings of sympathy. Although I found myself extremely sad and sympathetic most of the time during this pandemic, sometimes crying was not the way I expressed my sympathy. Sometimes when hearing about all the horrible things people were facing on the news, social media, or from friends directly, I felt more angry than sad. During this pandemic, sympathy is like an unexpected rainy day that comes and ruins plans you may have had. On one hand I really am sad that the rain came and ruined my day, but at the same time I am also mad because things could have been done to prevent the day from being ruined. During this pandemic whenever I have felt angry, it is usually because I am thinking about all the things that could have possibly been done to prevent so much hurt and sadness during these months. Yeah, maybe nothing could have been done, but at times it has definitely made me angry, yet still sympathetic, not knowing how things could have been different. These feelings have made me think about how anger is most certainly a way in which I have expressed sympathy before in other situations, when crying doesn’t always feel right.

Image from www.eaglegatecollege.edu

--

--

Kaylyn Noel
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition

My name is Kaylyn Noel and I am a Sophomore English Major at Siena College. I am also Co-Editor-In-Chief of “The Promethean”, the Siena College newspaper.