Renaming Covid

Haley Haux
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition
2 min readApr 6, 2021

In the past year, Covid has been a wildfire rapidly spreading throughout the world. It started in a small corner of the world and rapidly made its way into everyone’s life. Every single person has been affected one way or another by the pandemic. Whether it be not being able to buy toilet paper, having to wear a mask even when you don’t want to, or losing your job. Living life during a pandemic means constantly adapting to the world around you. The Coronavirus pandemic is just one really long nightmare, that you can’t stop waiting to wake up from. Since March 2020, life has not been the same. Every day is spent worrying about friends, family, and everyone affected by Covid. If I were to create a euphemism for Covid, I would not give it a name that gave it any more power than it already has. I would simply call Covid, it. By only calling Covid it, it takes away a lot of the fear surrounding it. When saying Covid-19 there is a fear surrounding the word. Even when I was sick, it felt illegal to say that I had Covid. I told people I was just sick trying not to go into detail, as long as I stayed in quarantine everyone would be okay. I’ve no longer been contagious for a little while now and have returned back to school yet some people still are scared to see me. By only calling coronavirus it, people could be more comfortable with the illness and more likely to share their experiences.

--

--

Haley Haux
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition

My name is Haley Haux and I’m from Queensbury, NY. I am an English major at Siena college with a pre law certification. Happy reading!