How to stay positive without testing positive

Haley Haux
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition
2 min readMar 4, 2021

Twenty years from now I’m sure future generations will be full of questions about the COVID-19 pandemic and how everyone kept busy and most importantly, stayed sane. A couple months into the pandemic, I was about to go crazy, I had never been so bored and quite honestly, so anxious. I knew I couldn’t survive very much longer like that so I did what any rational person would do, I got a puppy! Although my parents wanted to kill me, having a new puppy to focus on helped me not lose my mind. All of my dogs kept me busy and allowed me to have walking buddies even when I was not able to see anyone else. We took long walks in places we’ve never been before and swam in rivers I never knew existed. Although normal life has paused this past year, I’ve never learned so much about myself. Instead of going to Target or hanging out with a group of friends, my family and I found a new hiking trail and spent time outside. While my masks will be going into the garbage or a box deep in the basement; I have many new memories, photos, and things I’ve learned and that is what I will be sharing with future generations. Now remember, stay positive, but don’t test positive.

--

--

Haley Haux
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition

My name is Haley Haux and I’m from Queensbury, NY. I am an English major at Siena college with a pre law certification. Happy reading!