Sympathy Learned Through Experience

Samantha Moses
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition
2 min readMar 14, 2021

For many, it is hard to convey the depth of the sympathy they feel for someone. For others, it may be very easy to show sympathy. In some cases, it is difficult for me to show what I believe is a proper amount of sympathy for someone who is suffering. In the beginning of the pandemic, it was hard for me to show as much sympathy as I thought the person suffering through COVID-19 deserved. Although I felt badly for that person and hoped that they would feel better soon, I did not know how to comfort them or relate to what they were going through, because I had not gone through it myself. I also did not understand what they were feeling. Although one can show and feel sympathy towards someone even if they themselves have not experienced what the person is going through, I found it harder for me to do so for this illness.

When my mom tested positive for COVID-19 and was feeling miserable, I did not know how to react. Looking back, I wish I was more understanding. I was sure that she would be alright, so I figured that it was not that big of a deal. However, soon after, I also got Covid. It was not a pleasant experience. Along with fatigue, coughing, and aches, I also lost my sense of taste and smell. Although my taste has returned, I do not believe my sense of smell has completely come back, and found that some symptoms last for a while after you have recovered and are no longer contagious. At that point, I was able to understand how my mom felt and we were able to comfort each other throughout our quarantine. We enjoyed watching movies together and playing cards. Although I did not enjoy the experience, I feel as though I can at least sympathize with some of my friends who have recently tested positive. I can understand what they are going through and comfort them through their quarantine. I can also understand how they are feeling physically and mentally, because I have experienced it for myself. Therefore, I am not happy that I got Covid, but I am at least glad that I can now truly feel sympathy for others who have it.

--

--

Samantha Moses
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition

Hi! My name is Samantha Moses and I am a freshman at Siena College. My major is currently undecided, but I am interested in law.