The Great Toilet Paper Massacre of 2020.

Morgan Jones
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition
2 min readApr 1, 2021

One thing that you’d always expect to count on is going to the grocery store and seeing the isle of toilet paper full. I remember as a kid sitting on top of the piles like they were a throne and I was the queen of the toilet paper kingdom (or queendom, as I liked to call it). Then, in March of 2020, every sheet was gone. I was no longer the TP Queen, I was in fact, like everyone else, a peasant, searching for toilet paper in any store I stepped foot into.

The irony of it all is that I would have never guessed that toilet paper- of all things- would go missing from the shelves. Sure, hand sanitizer, meat, and mason jars all made sense, but toilet paper? No. Not even tissues were selling out as fast, yet tissues are used when you have a runny nose! It’s strange to me that that was everyone’s concern.

Cases are spiking, people are getting sicker and sicker, and the death toll is only increasing. Yet, the main concern for everyone is what they will use to wipe. The best part is, more people had to go to work to manufacture these products faster to get products back on the shelves rather than stay at home, like we were supposed to. If that’s not situational irony I don’t know what is.

So, yeah. I’m sure everyone will remember the bizarre days of the missing toilet paper. What a weird time we are living in…

--

--

Morgan Jones
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition

Hi! I’m a sophomore at Siena and I’m an English Education Major. I love reading and writing and I’m excited to use Medium for my Cyberpunk class!