The Passage of Time

Dallas Havens
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition
2 min readMar 4, 2021

The year was 2020 and the most priceless thing on the planet would slowly be taken away from us. That thing was time. Before this pandemic started the prospect of time being valuable was not a new concept to me, however new situations breed new perspectives. This pandemic allowed me and others to gather a better understanding on the value of time and what you lose when you lose time. Due to some unfortunate luck I was stuck in self quarantine for a whole month. In the early days of my isolation The passage of time seemed different. It felt slow but then I realized all I had missed. When my isolation was over I realized I had missed a holiday, missed countless hugs and smiles and new memories with those who I held dear. The unfortunate truth was that those memories and opportunities were things that I would never get back. While time always passes the freedom we have enables us to make memories out of our most valuable resource. The unfortunate truth is that for me and others the pandemic took time. The reality is that no matter how hard I tried to make up for time I had lost to make as many memories to try and compensate for the ones I had lost the sad truth was that I could never get that time back.

Photo by Ocean Ng on Unsplash

--

--

Dallas Havens
Witness Journals | Pandemic Edition

Hello people my name is Dallas I enjoy quotes and engaging conversations