The Cure lay in the Truth.

Alenka Rose
Orchestrate
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2018

I want to take you further into the idea of speaking your mind from the get-go of interpersonal connection. In earlier writing, I mentioned the fact that even when I have known a person for a relatively short amount of time, I do not hold back in conversation. From the very first moment, I am my passionate, explosive, wicked self, fuelled by a silly sense of humour & throwing around philosophical quotes. Which to some is a rather overwhelming experience, for we all seem to have been spoon-fed the idea that remaining a mysterious force, holding back what we really think and feel, is the way to go when meeting people. And surely, it’s true that it can be a wonderfully complex and interesting situation when we can’t quite grasp who someone is and what they stand for, but getting to know a person fully is an ongoing process anyway, for we are ever evolving creatures with minds expanding almost daily and ideas growing like weeds. I hardly know who I will be tomorrow, let alone another human being.

So I vouch, from the steadiest grounds of my heart, for the act of freely sharing our personal truths. Instantly.

The oh so controversial Jordan Peterson (whom I deeply admire) laid out this idea solidly in a lecture that I came across recently. “The exchange of truth is curative.”

To be able to speak your mind from the deepest fire of your soul can be a source of healing. To allow someone else to respond in a mode of pure honesty is equally restoring.

We don’t always have to agree (I’d much prefer if we don’t, for we’d run out of things to say if we thought the same about everything all the time), but keeping an open mind whilst listening and speaking with an open heart to me seems like the only way to truly connect.

There have been a couple of people I have met somewhat recently with whom I have a connection that is deeper than many I have made in the past couple of years, which is partly attributed to the fact that we are all creatives, but equally important is that we put our hearts on the line from the very first second we exchanged thoughts and ideas.

One friend wrote to me recently, “The only thing we really owe to the universe is presenting ourselves fully for what we are without filters.” Now, I don’t know about the Universe or any all-encompassing powers, but I know that if I were to sit on Hera’s throne, I’d light up those who would live their whole life all filtered up.
To constantly ask ourselves whether we deserve to say something, as though our words are lit matches we throw onto gasoline, is to take away all chances of the glory of a kindling fire between two like-minded souls.

And nothing is quite as marvellous as living from that place of fire.

--

--

Alenka Rose
Orchestrate

Writer, pouring out waves of thought on the human experience.