Woman’s Other Best Friend: Animal Companionship and Wellness

Alexandria Miller
Witted Roots
Published in
4 min readJul 16, 2019

I am moving to a brand new state, two hours away from my closest relative, and 1,500 miles away from my mom. That number has been hanging over my head lately. I don’t regret my decision at all, but I have started to overthink about being lonely and the time it takes to make new friends. Somewhere in these stream of thoughts I, the “likes animals from a distance” and “it could never be in my bed” person, thought it may be nice to get a pet. Saying it aloud was quite amusing for anyone who knows me. After a quick laugh, my first thought was, “Oh no, I don’t want to be one of those ‘crazy cat ladies.’” Much to my own shame, I challenged myself out of this thinking and the stereotypical, patriarchal perceptions that have made women’s pet ownership a social crime. I embraced that everyone, even the cat lady, needs someone or something to love and be loved. For the first time since childhood, I welcomed the idea of animal companionship.

Animal Companionship Research

Pets are brilliant beings. Countless pets are also trained as service animals, aiding people with disabilities. Most people have seen guide dogs for the blind, but service animals have also been trained to alert someone to take their medication, inform them when they are experiencing a seizure, or even retrieve fallen items. Additionally, animals are also quite healing. Equine-Assisted Therapy, for example, involves activities with horses to promote physical and mental health.

Aside from service animals, studies have proven that pets can have a profound impact on a person’s quality of life. Owning a dog, for example, promotes exercise and outdoor activities. A 2016 report from the University of Manchester and published by BMC Psychiatry highlighted that pets provide “ontological security,” or a sense of order and meaning, for people with long-term mental illnesses. The study also showed that pets provide their owners with a sense of responsibility and a number of other hidden benefits, like emotional management and relational support where otherwise missing. Furthermore, research that dates over thirty years showed that having a pet can correlate to decreased blood pressure, relaxed breathing, and even reduced muscle tension.

Woman’s Best Friend

While growth and chasing our dreams as women of color demands a temporary surrender of security and comfort, that does not mean we must also be miserable in the process. I look forward to being in a new place in just a few short months, but that transition can still be isolating. Getting adjusted is one thing, but truly thriving is another.

With change also comes feelings of self-doubt, depression, and fear. I am enthusiastic about my relocation, but nonetheless, I will be starting over and leaving the community I’ve loved and grown from over the last six years. My mental health is very important to me and getting a little puppy, preferably, is one way I hope to ease the brunt of my rollercoaster emotions.

Pets provide unyielding emotional support, so much so that you can legally register them in the United States. My pet-owning friends have commented that their animals have taught them accountability and non-verbal communication. Some of their furry companions have even highlighted shortcomings they never knew existed. One friend commented that she built an entire community in her new town by owning her dog. Taking her pet to the dog park was not only about exercise; she also developed relationships with other owners.

Pets As Reminders For Self-Care

One of my mentors remarked, “How you take care of your dog is reflective of how you take care of yourself,” and that really struck me. On one hand, animals can teach us women about our maternal instincts. I’ve known people who decided whether or not they wanted a child based on their experiences with their pets. On the other hand, the responsibility of having an animal can mirror your self-care routine or lack thereof. When was the last time you’ve felt the sun on your skin? Have you eaten today? Have you taken a shower? These are things having a pet will force you to reflect on as they will demand it for themselves.

Pets also love you unconditionally and are empathetic. They can be there to cuddle through sadness and grief. And unlike people, they will love you even on the days you ignore them. They can be entirely vulnerable at all times and that is a lesson on how we enact our own emotions. Aside from our physical needs, they also challenge us to live our lives better. Known for her many dogs, Oprah Winfrey once remarked, “Dogs are my favorite role models. I want to work like a dog, doing what I was born to do with joy and purpose. I want to play like a dog, with total, jolly abandon. I want to love like a dog, with unabashed devotion and complete lack of concern about what people do for a living, how much money they have, or how much they weigh…”

My goal in the next year is to have a puppy. The idea has brought laughter to my mother who enjoyed saying “I told you so” and shock to friends who have said, “they don’t even know who I am anymore.” Like most things that I’ve experienced in my 23rd year, not only do our ideas change but also our willingness to push ourselves beyond our comfort zone. I hope to welcome 24 this Fall with a new furry friend.

--

--